1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multi-page Table of Contents in MSWord

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by siouxcq, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. siouxcq

    siouxcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    I am having a problem with the Table of Contents (TOC) in a large document. I have two problems really - most likely both related to the size of the TOC. The first problem is that the header row is separating from the rest of the table when the TOC gets too long for one page. The other problem is that only part of the TOC is showing (on the second page) and I don't know how to get the whole thing to show.

    Currently what I see is the TOC Header on the first page, then the partial TOC on the second page, then the fisrt page of the report on the third page. I've tried every setting and option I can think of. Has anyone else had this problem before?
     
  2. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    1. What is the "header row"? I know of no such thing in a TOC. If you mean a level 1 heading sits at the bottom of a page with all its 2nd levels on the next page, then select any level 1 heading in the TOC and hit Format-Paragraph, line & page breaks tab, and hit Keep with next.

    2. Don't know what the problem is with the whole TOC not showing. Have you updated it? Right-click and update field.

    I'll be happy to have a look at your doc: [email protected]iersontech.com
     
  3. siouxcq

    siouxcq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Hi All,

    Just to report back... Dreamboat helped me offline. I was using a template that my project group supplied. Apparently, they had inserted the Table of Contents into a table cell. The table had 2 rows of data - the first row being the "header row" withour logo and the second row being the TOC.

    It makes sense that the table cell would not want to split across multiple pages if there is too much to fit on one page. That was all I need to know. I just deleted that row of the table (leaving only the header row) and inserted the TOC underneath.

    Thanks Dreamboat!!!
     
  4. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,746
    First Name:
    Anne
    :)

    Actually, a table row CAN split across pages. However, I believe that their sole intent of putting the TOC into a table cell was for the purpose of a border around it. With a two-page table, and only the first page having the logo, the border format no longer made sense, else I would have helped develop a workaround to keep the border.

    You're welcome, Sue! I'm generally the one who comes back and posts what occurred, but I'm knee-deep into something else at the mo. Thanks!
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219932

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice