1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

multiplayer lag problems on starcraft 2

Discussion in 'Games' started by kungfueeyore, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kungfueeyore

    kungfueeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I just bought a new computer and I've found that when I run SC2 I lag terribly after 1-2 games and eventually dropped. This only happens when the graphics are set above low. I should be able to handle the game on ultra settings. I sometimes lag even on the lowest settings while my 5 year old laptop doesnt have that problem. Sometimes the system will reboot when its overwhelmed. Here are my specs:
    Intel i7 3.07 ghz
    Nvidia Geforce x465
    windows 7 64 bit
    6 gigs of ram

    I updated my video card driver and my fps is about 60. Also, while watching one of the movies on high in sc2 my computer rebooted. Before, I wouldn't be able to log in to bnet because it said I had a connection problem but once I opened firefox, I would log in. When any new information was needed, I would have to refresh a webpage and suddenly bnet would work for that small window as well. Don't know if the two are related or are separate issues. Help is much appreciated.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Download and install hwmonitor
    and see what the temps etc are. Download the 1.17 setup, english on the righthand side.
    ....take a reading when not running the game CPU(core) and GPU Video card and post them. (Just a screenshot of results is fine)

    Then run the game for 10min or so and take another reading post the results
     
  3. kungfueeyore

    kungfueeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]Without running SC (all in Celsius)
    Value-Min-Max
    Temperatures:
    TMPIN0 32 32 33
    TMPIN1 73 72 76
    TMPIN2 48 48 49

    Core Temp
    Core 0 35 34 40
    Core 1 32 31 38
    Core 2 36 35 42
    Core 3 28 28 36

    NVIDIA GTX 465
    Assembly: 28 28 29
    Voltages: .88 .88 .88
    TMPIN0 37 37 38

    This is while running SC2 on medium graphics:
    TMPIN0 38 32 38
    TMPIN1 82 72 83
    TMPIN2 49 48 49

    Core temp
    Core 0 39 34 49
    Core 1 36 31 47
    Core 2 40 35 46
    Core 3 34 28 43

    NVIDIA GTX 465
    Voltage: 1.00 .88 1.00
    Temp: TMPIN0 57 37 58
     
  4. kungfueeyore

    kungfueeyore Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Here they are. Sorry didnt realize I could attach files
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Temps seem OK.

    maybe a hint that if you run the games on low it is OK.....I would think your video card maybe having problems

    Try lowering the screen resolution and see
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972349

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice