1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple-boot Linux tips?

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Bartender, Oct 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bartender

Bartender Thread Starter

I have a dual-boot Linux test box running W2K/Dapper. I want to set that HDD aside so nothing bad happens to it, plug in a 120GB Seagate, and experiment with multiple-booting 4 or 5 Linux distro's. No MS OS at all.
    I'm a newb. Does anyone know of a fairly comprehensible guide? Is it no harder than dual-boot? If I had to try it right now, I'd just plunk in the 1st distro, use the partitioning tool to make 4 partitions, install to the 1st partition, reboot, put in the next one, etc.
    It's not that easy, is it?

2. Sponsor

3. saikee

saikee

Got loads the booting information you need in my signature.

If you can boot 2 systems I expect you can do 200 as the instructions don't get changed.

4. Bartender

Bartender Thread Starter

HI, saikee -
    I was hoping you'd respond!! Will take a look at your links, thanks!

5. fenderfreek

fenderfreek

Saikee's link hits the nail on the head. It really is no different to multiboot with Linuxes than with Window$, Except that Linux Distro's can share swap - a very nice feature. Also, they peacefully coexist and don't screw up each other's bootloaders, like Win...
    I've done it, and it's quite easy, so best of luck to you!

6. Bartender

Bartender Thread Starter

Spent several hours yesterday with SimplyMepis, Ubuntu 6.06, and PCLinuxOS. Gave up trying to get 3 of 'em and woulda been happy to just get 2, but what I've got right now is a PC that's booting PCLOS and showing another partition that I thought was Ubuntu but might not be any more.