1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple display graphics card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nckheinrich, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nckheinrich

    nckheinrich Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    So building my first computer and after doing plenty of research I am still confused like none other. I want a computer that's able to handle 2 displays in as much definition as possible (for the money) and a 3rd just being able to display basically standard paint don't really need much definition on it. Now this is where I'm confused to do this in the most economical way would it be better to just get a highly capable graphics card or dual card it with the second card being just a standard card.
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,638
    To do what you are explaining, you will want two video cards. Use the same chipset brand to reduce chances of a conflict.
     
  3. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,572
    All new AMD cards can support a minimum of three monitors, some six, at pretty much whatever resolution you want, all you have to do is make sure it has at least three outputs that match your monitors, although adapters exist too and they do not affect quality of the output; any "definition" would likely be down to the monitors you have and not down to a modern graphics card.

    Here's just a single example: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814129232

    But simply look into Eyefinity: http://www.amd.com/us/products/tech...gy/for-consumers/Pages/what-is-eyefinity.aspx

    Beyond that, if you need a lot of processing power for gaming or CAD/Design applications then make sure the card has the performance for that.
     
  4. nckheinrich

    nckheinrich Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I wasnt really looking for AMD since I have had nothing but positive experiences with nvidia in my store bought... but not oppsed to the idea
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,572
  6. Oddba11

    Oddba11 Jim

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,638
    For AMD Eyefinity there are two items to be aware of: 1) one of the three monitors will need to attach to a Display Port, either natively or via an adapter 2) all of the screens should be the same resolution. You can use Eyefinity with different resolution monitors, but all of the monitors will be run at the lowest common resolution.

    I've not used the new nVidia configurations and don't know if they have similar restraints.

    So it depends on your hardware and what you want.
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    45,572
    This is completely true as detailed in the FAQ: http://www.amd.com/us/products/tech...nology/how-to/Pages/faqs.aspx#same-resolution

    The monitors can be a different size and have resolutions when used in the typical Extended Mode.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064213