1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple IRP request error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by vipe, Feb 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vipe

    vipe Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    I am running w/2000 professional, 667mhz pentium III, 256 megs ram. I keep getting blue screened with the message "Multiple IRP requests complete, beginning dump of memory" then there are what I assume are memory addresses, the 000000009f type stuff.

    I have to use my reset button as nothing happens until I do.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    I can't find any reference to that particular stop error anywhere on google or mskb.
    Is there a stop error code?
    eg. "Stop 0xC2" or "Stop 0x000000C2" or "Stop 0x00000050"

    If you haven't done so already, install sp3
    There's a couple of "I/O Request Packet" fixes referenced:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324939

    It could be a driver-related issue, or software incompatability...
    What programs/processes are running at the time?
    What is your sound card & video card?
     
  3. vipe

    vipe Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    It looks similar to this:


    ***STOP: 0x00000044 (0x814c3308, 0x00000cca, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)
    Multiple IRP requests complete
    beginning dump of physical memory




    I say similar because the first set of numbers in () is never the same.
     
  4. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
  5. vipe

    vipe Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    thank you Egg for the time you have spent helping.
    Unfortunately, the problem seems to get worse not better.
    Immediately upon rebooting after SP#3 installation, I can no longer keep a window active. It has taken almost twenty minutes now to write this post as I have to keep clicking the mouse to activate this window. Bout every third or fourth letter. I am leaning towards a hardware problem with this cable modem. Since the Reboot it has blue screened me 4 times and this is the latest:

    ***stop:0x000000d1(0x00000004, 0x00000002, 0x00000000,0xedcc60b4)
    *** address edcc60b4 base atedcc4000 date stamp 3c1d65c4- webstar.sys
    beginning dump of physical memory


    I am lost. please help point me somewhere
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Have you tried a system repair by booting the W2K CD?
     
  7. vipe

    vipe Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    I have not tried that, actually never you it existed. I have the disk, what do I do?
     
  8. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hopefully, someone will come along with the exact instructions soon.
    Oddly enough, Win2k is the one and only Microsoft OS that I've never personally used . . . I've suffered through all the others, now using WinXP.

    To make the CD-ROM bootable, you need to reboot your pc,
    and enter BIOS Setup.

    Before rebooting, place the Windows 2000 CD-ROM in the drive.
    If it auto runs, just close it.

    If you've never been into the BIOS / Setup before, on the 2nd bootup screen where it detects and lists your hardware devices, you should see different options listed at the bottom. One of these will be "Setup", and it will also tell you which key to press to gain access. This is usually "Del", but could be F2, F11, or other.

    The BIOS / Setup menus and procedures also vary per machine.
    It depends on the pc manufacturer, or if no brand name (self/custom built), then it depends on the motherboard and BIOS manufacturer/provider.

    In the setup, you'll be looking for "Boot Sequence"

    In my BIOS, this comes under the "Advanced BIOS Features" section, but as I said, it could be different for yours, so (if you have one) refer to your motherboard manual.

    You will need to change the Boot Sequence to:
    1st boot device = CD-ROM
    2nd boot device = IDE-0 (this will be your main hard drive, usually C:/)

    Before you make any changes, take note of what the current settings are, because you will need to change them back afterwards.

    Save the Settings

    System will now reboot, and the Windows 2000 CD Setup screen should appear. Here you will be presented with all available options, and I assume that one of these will be "system repair".

    Hopefully johnwill or another member will return with confirmation and exact procedure instructions.



    What I was going to suggest was that you temporarily remove the cable modem (ie. unplug it) and see if the Stop Error still occurs. If you have a dial-up modem installed, you could also temporarily use that, just for troubleshooting purposes.

    If the Stop Error no longer occurs, then you will have found the culprit.

    Uninstall all the software for the cable modem.
    Reinstall the software
    Plug the cable modem back in.

    If the problems start up again, then it's time to contact the cable provider.
    Maybe they've got some new updated drivers available?


    I also suggest that you download and run StartUpList
    and paste or attach the result file here.

    You can run StartUpList in normal mode for a standard result file,
    or via Start -> Run with a switch to produce a more complete list.

    "c:\path.to\startuplist.exe" /complete

    (replacing \path.to\ with the correct path)

    StartUpList will show us all current running apps/processes, plus a list of everything loading at startup. This will help us to determine whether or not you've been hit by a virus, trojan, or spyware.
     
  9. mtbird

    mtbird

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    3,687
  10. vipe

    vipe Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks a lot to all of you.
    Iwill try these things and let you all know how it goes.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/116375

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice