1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple links

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by esaraf, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. esaraf

    esaraf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    My PC is running with Windows XP Home edition and IE 6.0. I want to open multiple links (Multiple Internet sites), but in most of the times when I open new link, the other closes. I see other people who can open 10 Internet sites at concurrently. What wrong with my IE?

    Eli Saraf
     
  2. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,146
    Hi esaraf

    Welcome to Tech Support Guy Forums!

    Start > Settings > Control Panel > Internet Options > Advanced tab
    under Browsing
    remove the checkmark for:
    Reuse windows for launching shortcuts

    On the Programs tab,
    Remove if there, the checkmark for:
    Internet Explorer should check to see if it is the default browser
    click the Reset Web Settings button.
    Apply, OK, to save and close.

    ______________________________________________________________

    If the above steps do not solve the problem, run the following commands,

    Copy or print out the following commands as you will need to close all windows,
    Start > Run
    Key in:
    regsvr32 urlmon.dll

    You should see a message for each .dll saying if the command was successful or not so wait for it.

    If the option for Open in New Window still does not work, repeat the process with these additional .dlls:
    Start > Run
    Key in:
    regsvr32 shdocvw.dll
    regsvr32 msjava.dll
    regsvr32 actxprxy.dll
    regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    regsvr32 mshtml.dll
    regsvr32 browseui.dll
    regsvr32 Shell32.dll (For Windows XP and Windows 2000 only)

    ______________________________________________________________

    Let us know what happens.
     
  3. Ratboy

    Ratboy

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,220
    You can also right-click the link and select Open in New Window.
     
  4. sekirt

    sekirt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,998
    Some other possible causes:

    Popup blocker. Most allow you to hold down ctrl and open a new window.
    Removing Yahoo Companion Bar if you have it, can fix the problem.
    http://www.customize.org/forum/7135

    sekirt
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330699

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice