1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple Router Setup

Discussion in 'Networking' started by out-there, Apr 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. out-there

out-there Thread Starter

I am sure somebody out there can help with this one.

I currently take care of a small office network, please note I'm self taught and still learning.

Currently:

20 computers
    Main Server
    Phone Server
    1 vpn router (BEFVP41 V2)
    2 wireless routers (Dlink DI-614+ and WRT54G)
    2 trendnet switches (TE100-S24 and TE-100 S16
    Other Misc Lan Printers and devices

Right now out VPN router is connected to our modem. The VPN router is then connected to the first switch which is connected to the other switch, the other 2 routers, and various computers.

We have various issues, including transfer speed, ability to see all computers on the network, etc etc. I assume the issues are in how I have the routers configured.

SO, here are my questions.

1) I no longer have a need for the wireless functionality of the 2 additional routers. Should they be replaced by switches?

2) If I keep the setup as is, how should the routers be configured, is there a good resource on the web to read about this?

3) "If someone has the time to answer this one I would be grateful." - If you were starting from scratch how would you configure this network, what hardware would you buy? Due to wiring limitations there are two areas of our building, where the additional wireless routers are now, that a router or switch or something must be used to service multiple computers.

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE ME.

2. hermes

hermes