1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Multiple switches

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Maegrace, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maegrace

Maegrace Thread Starter

Hi, wanted to put this out there to gt some secon opinions before we go in a tech meeting shortly. Firstly, I'm not a data technician so my apologies if I get anything wrong here or make it confusing in any way. We create energy control systems for commercial customers and have recently invented a control system to allow our guys to control one individual device at once over an addressable network, we're just in the process of deciding how to send messages to each individual device and struggling. I'm a spark by trade so the only thing I know much about is wiring, and that's we're the trouble lies, we have nine hundred Ethernet relays connecting to one computer; the relays are spread over three floors and simply recieve a small data packets telling them to turn on or off (so the data levels are pretty small throughout the network) but tech developers are saying that each device needs to be wired in cat5 back to the server. I wanted to develop a device that incorporated a small three port Ethernet switch so that we could daisy chain up tp 50 devices back to a larger switch and then back up to a network drive on the server. So we would end up with a 8 port switch on each floor then branches of 50 interconnecting devices, but I've been called an idiot!!!