Multiple tabs opening simultaneously at high speed (Firefox)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xcourtneymaex

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
4
Yes, I don't know why, but this is the second time that I've actually experienced this problem. The first time I thought that it was a trojan and I decided to reformat my computer.

Now, I want to be absolutely positive. Whenever I open firefox every now and then when I'm visiting websites multiple tabs will open at high rates of speed and I cannot stop them from opening. I have to CTRL-ALT-DELETE and end firefox & sometimes I basically have to get lucky doing that. Otherwise I just reboot.

Can someone educate me on what the problem might be, what I can do to solve it, & keep it from happening again?

Thank you very much! :D
Courtney
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
1,351
does it happen on any other browser? and if you haven't already try re-installing firefox
 

xcourtneymaex

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
4
Yes, I've already done that - twice.

& No it doesn't happen with any other browser except Firefox.

When I disable the using of tabs completely it opens multiple windows - which is even more aggravating.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
20,583
Hi xcourtneymaex,

How do you have Tabs in your Firefox preferences set?

Do you possibly have any RSS feeds? At the end of the RSS feed list for almost any RSS feed, there is a last entry to - Open All in Tabs. Could you inadvertently be clicking on that?

-- Tom
 

xcourtneymaex

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
4
No.
I don't subscribe to RSS feeds at all.

& it seems to just happen... no matter what website I'm on & it happens completely randomly.

I still think it's a virus of some kind or malware... but I have no idea.

I'll end up installing symantec or something to see if that will fix it.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
20,583
Why not first visit the Mozilla forums for Firefox. Installing symantec seems a bit extreme if it is not a virus.

Go here to start. You can search the knowledge base for "multiple tabs opening", and if you don't find anything you can join the forums and ask your question there with a decidedly more knowledgeable membership about problems with Firefox.

-- Tom
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
20,583
Sounds good.
I'll do that, I never thought of that.

haha.

Thank you! =)
Hi xcourtneymaex,

Please post the solution in this thread when you are able to resolve the problem.

Others confronted with that same problem would surely want to know how you corrected it!

-- Tom
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top