1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

multiple workbooks

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by anoisaris, Oct 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. anoisaris

    anoisaris Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Hi all,

    Working with excel 2000 on winNT, I wish to open two different workbooks and be able to access each of them from the task-bar. Basically when I open an excel file it appears on the task-bar, and when I open another excel file I would like it to also appear on the task-bar so I can alt-tab between them. How do you do it?
    Hope I am making sense.

    thks in advance
    Dave
     
  2. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    Although I've never been able to either understand this issue or get it to do anything much for me, you might want to have a look at Tools -- Options -- View -- (Show) Windows in Taskbar.

    HTH,
    Andy
     
  3. CastleHeart

    CastleHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    743
    So how do you view them XLG ? With a single button?

    Once I got used to having separate buttons on the task bar for each workbook - it was frustrating to have it the other way.

    Often I am flying back and forth between two WBs while editing them and it is surely convenient to have them down there to click!



    - Castleheart :cool:
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    This feature first appeared in XL 2000. Prior to that you had to swap via the window drop down
     
  5. XL Guru

    XL Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,702
    >> Often I am flying back and forth between two WBs ...
    >> ... swap via the window drop down

    I just use CTRL+Tab.

    Rgds,
    Andy
     
  6. y2kdaddio

    y2kdaddio

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Can't you just open two instances of Excel, then open the each workbook in each instance? Right click on the task bar and tile the windows.
     
  7. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Can't you just open two instances of Excel, then open the each workbook in each instance? Right click on the task bar and tile the windows.
    No. Excel will only allow 1 instance running.
     
  8. CastleHeart

    CastleHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    743
    I am not sure that is the case, Dr. Burnett,

    Though it could be just a manipulation of Excel, you can indeed start two separate windows of EXCEL2000. CTRL-ALT-DEL views them as two instances of EXCEL running so it appears to me to be so. Now, maybe it's smoke and mirrors and in the background it is only churning one program - I'm not sure - but the effect is what the daddio suggested.

    If you just need to flip back and forth quickly, you can just click the buttons on the task bar to toggle between windows ( if you have the Show Windows in Taskbar" option selected ), or as Andy pointed out, CTRL TAB

    If you need two windows side by side to view - you can open EXCEL twice and see both files at once. One for your left eye and one for your right. :rolleyes:

    - Castleheart
     
  9. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I did originally say that this feature is 2000 onwards. It depends on how you open the second one. If you double click on an associated file it opens a second window and display a second tab.It is still only one instance.
    If you specifically open a second occurence with a blank sheet it does start a second instance. I will see what it does on 97.
     
  10. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Same on 97
     
  11. CastleHeart

    CastleHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    743
    How bout on 3.1 Dave ?















    Juuuuuuuusssssst kidding!!!! :D - C
     
  12. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    That would be Excel 2.0. Strangely I set up a 3.11 just last week. I have the disks for that version of office if you really want to know.
     
  13. CastleHeart

    CastleHeart

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Messages:
    743
  14. lora_3677

    lora_3677

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,228
    and WHY did you install windows 3.11?! isn't that prehistoric.. lol
     
  15. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I was setting it up on a RAM disk to run some old software under DOS 6.22. I Also set it up under DOS 7 as an emergency recovery disk for Ghost, Partition Magiic. Norton etc. I wanted the File Manager, Find file, and Text Processing features available in Windows.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/173516

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice