1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My 1070 Gpus HDMI port isn’t working properly

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GreasyBoi, Dec 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GreasyBoi

GreasyBoi Thread Starter

Okay so basically this is my first time every building a pc so I need a lot help with the last few steps.To cut the chase I have this problem with my gpus hdmi port where it doesn’t do anything when plugged in and connected to my tv .There is no signal when I check the tv inputs, so it’s just a black screen with no bios showing up.I thoughtIt was my HDMI cable but I tried a DVI cable with a HDMI adapter but that didnt work either.My power is supply is working normally, and the gpu has a small white lite showing rather than a green or red one .So I basically just need help understanding my problem

2. phillpower2

phillpower2

Hello GreasyBoi,

Check the settings on the TV, brands are different but on my TV handset you press source which brings up a list of options HDMI 1, 2, 3, 4 etc, among the options is one for PC, I have to select this if I want to use the TV as an external display for the notebook.

3. GreasyBoi

GreasyBoi Thread Starter

I was able to check the options but there was no signal for any of them,I’m thinking of getting a monitor to see if anything changes and a quick question, could something with the CPU be the cause of this problem?

4. phillpower2

phillpower2

With the limited information available in your OP we are not in a position to be able to offer any opinion at the moment.