My computer audio isn't working?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tiltedteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
6
Yesterday night, my system started doing an update by itself and after it was done, I was experiencing BLANK blue screens. I did a system repair and that fixed the issue (I think, haven't had a blank blue screen yet) but now my system audio isn't working at ALL. I checked the drivers, they say they're all up to date.

I tried doing Windows>Run>Services.msc and Starting / Restarting Windows Audio.

THAT didn't work either. Someone please help me figure out how to get my audio working !!
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2018
Messages
7
Try to restore your pc two/three days back or on last system restore. If that doesn't work and your issue remains same download driverbooster to find right drivers for your audio. Also, you can uninstall the existing drivers and reinstall them again. That will surely help.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
Using a third party driver utility is NEVER recommended; these very often do more harm than good.
Next no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact cpu, exact ram, exact video, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for all of your parts. If this is a big box system ie dell, hp, whatever, post the exact brand, model# and service tag#
 

tiltedteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
6
Using a third party driver utility is NEVER recommended; these very often do more harm than good.
Next no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact cpu, exact ram, exact video, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for all of your parts. If this is a big box system ie dell, hp, whatever, post the exact brand, model# and service tag#
Should I just upload what my DxDiag says?
 

tiltedteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
6
Using a third party driver utility is NEVER recommended; these very often do more harm than good.
Next no one [other than you] has any idea what hardware you are running. Post ALL of your exact system specs; ie exact motherboard, exact cpu, exact ram, exact video, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for all of your parts. If this is a big box system ie dell, hp, whatever, post the exact brand, model# and service tag#
Operating System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit (10.0, Build 17134) (17134.rs4_release.180410-1804)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: To be filled by O.E.M.
BIOS: F1 (type: UEFI)
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.5GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8150MB RAM
Page File: 4627MB used, 9410MB available
Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
DirectX Version: DirectX 12
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
Your motherboard did not show. It appears you are using a big box system that uses a gigabyte motherboard with onboard sound. If this is the case, you need to go to the support site of whomever built the system. OEMs often have slightly different drivers than a regular gigabyte or asus motherboard.
Once you find out the system builder, download the relevant sound driver. Attempt to reinstall the driver and see if that works. If not, you may have a hardware problem ie failing sound chip on the motherboard. We can test for that however attempt the driver reinstall first.
 

tiltedteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
6
Your motherboard did not show. It appears you are using a big box system that uses a gigabyte motherboard with onboard sound. If this is the case, you need to go to the support site of whomever built the system. OEMs often have slightly different drivers than a regular gigabyte or asus motherboard.
Once you find out the system builder, download the relevant sound driver. Attempt to reinstall the driver and see if that works. If not, you may have a hardware problem ie failing sound chip on the motherboard. We can test for that however attempt the driver reinstall first.
Reinstalling the driver did not work. I still have no audio at all
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
OK, boot the system with a linux live usb. This will tell you in seconds if you have a windows/driver problem or a hardware failure. If the sound works under linux, you know the hw is ok. If you still do not have sound booting a linux live usb, the hardware has failed. There are a LOT of linux distos for this task however I would use either linux mint or ubuntu; both will setup all hardware when you boot the usb. Just play some mp3, movie, whatever and see.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
It would also really help if you posted the exact brand and model# of your system.
 

tiltedteal

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Messages
6
OK, boot the system with a linux live usb. This will tell you in seconds if you have a windows/driver problem or a hardware failure. If the sound works under linux, you know the hw is ok. If you still do not have sound booting a linux live usb, the hardware has failed. There are a LOT of linux distos for this task however I would use either linux mint or ubuntu; both will setup all hardware when you boot the usb. Just play some mp3, movie, whatever and see.
how do I do this? Also where can I find my model # , I know that my PC is by Cyberpower
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,431
how do I do this? Also where can I find my model # , I know that my PC is by Cyberpower
You download the iso file and make the bootable usb using the iso. Common programs to make a bootable usb rufus.
As for you model# it should be on the case. You did download the driver from the mfg and not gigabyte correct?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top