1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

my computer freezes up once ethernet cable is plugged in

Discussion in 'Networking' started by gswan74, Sep 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gswan74

    gswan74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    I've got a wireless adapter for my desktop and thats what i've been using for years to connect, but now i'm am trying to get a more reliable connection by having the ethernet cable plugged in. Problem is, as soon as I plug it in the whole computer gets extreamly sluggish or sometimes freezes up completely. If I am very patient, I can very slowly do something things. If I open the browser, it probably takes a minute for it to load. Opening the control panel, the window pops-up but none of the icons will appear until it times out. And trying to use the network icons on the taskbar to get into network settings is impossible. Weird thing is as soon as I unplug it and turn the wifi back on, the PC starts responding super quick again within seconds...

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    update the ethernet driver
    does the router port and cable work on another PC at all

    the driver will be on the pc manufacturers website
    post back the make and model of the PC
     
  3. dro0ps

    dro0ps

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    It could be a virus. Once connected to the internet it creates very heavy traffic. <removed by moderator - Etaf >
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    dro0ps only members with gold shields are allowed to offer virus advice , we would want a gold shield to review the results, to avoid any damage occurring to a PC by removing incorrect items
     
  5. gswan74

    gswan74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    i checked for viruses, and it also connects fine with my wireless usb adaptor.

    I did update the drivers for the ethernet port, and the same port on the router works fine with my laptop.

    The computer was custom made by someone else, the eithernet port is integrated with the motherboard, which is a Gigabyte Technology's 965P-S3 (Socket 775). I've thought about just getting a new ethernet card and plugging that into an empty slot, just haven't got around to trying it.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    remove the Ethernet adapter from device manager
    right click the adapter and remove/uninstall
    then restart the PC as let windows detect new hardware and re-install the adapter
     
  7. gswan74

    gswan74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Still no luck. I deleted the adapter and windows reinstalled it after i reset. Still no luck, so I updated the drivers using the windows feature, rebooted and still no luck.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    you may need to do that or a USB version, as the ethernet adapter maybe faulty

    lets see a device manager screen shot, and ipconfig /all and a list of services

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ----
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    -----
    http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f136/how-to-use-windows-device-manager-655905.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If any of those services are not started/running,
    then right click on the service
    then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

    for each dependancy entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

    ---------
     
  9. gswan74

    gswan74 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    here you go... And just to clarify, the problem computer works fine when I have it connect with the USB wireless antenna that I have. But it doesn't seem to work when I plug the actual cable. The wifi at my house isn't as strong and steady as I'd like and so for my gaming I'd rather be using a wired connection...

    [​IMG]


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Grayden-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ut.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-4D-68-7A-77
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ut.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless N-300 USB Adapter WNA3100
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-91-F5-49-B1-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5c29:ad8:5eac:211a%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 06, 2012 4:19:43 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 08, 2012 12:38:27 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 383816181
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-74-C5-6A-00-1A-4D-68-7A-77
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.ut.comcast.net.:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ut.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.101%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:3c56:127:51cb:84bc(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3c56:127:51cb:84bc%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    Services

    COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) --started and automatic
    Computer Browser--started and manual
    DHCP Client--started and auto
    DNS Client--started and auto
    Network Connections--started and auto
    Network Location Awareness--started and auto
    Remote Procedure Call (RPC)--started an auto
    Server--started and auto
    TCP/IP Netbios helper--started and auto
    Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)--
    WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)--started and auto
    Workstation--started and auto


    there is a 'Wired AutoConfig' service that is not running and set to manual. Should I start that?
     

    Attached Files:

    • dm.jpg
      dm.jpg
      File size:
      108.7 KB
      Views:
      4,077
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,853
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc727725(v=ws.10).aspx
    no not required unless a special network - see link above

    try a tcp ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7

    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1067749