1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My computer has obviously been infected, i can't connect to the internet to download

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Voodoo_lily, May 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Voodoo_lily

    Voodoo_lily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    My computer takes almost 20 minutes just to start up or shut down and won't even let me connect to the internet so I can scan for viruses. I have an HP running windows XP. Is there a program or command i can use ? Please help :( .
     
  2. khazars

    khazars

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,302
    Note: Anyone running Windows XP and ME should turn off system restore
    to avoid reinfection while deletion of spyware, viruses etc is being
    enacted by spybot's search and destroy and adaware etc.!

    go to this site and download these tools and once you get both
    adaware and spybot, update both of them.Set adaware to deep scan and
    Delete everything adaware finds and delete what spybot finds marked in red.


    Save hijack this to it's own folder, and click scan then save the log
    and post it here so we can take a look at it for you.


    hijack this
    . cwshredder
    . SpyBot
    . AdAware


    http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloads31.html

    cwshredder can be got here

    http://www.merijn.org/downloads.html

    khaz

    to stop reinfection get these two tools, spywareguard and spywareblaster from

    www.javacoolsoftware.com
     
  3. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Voodoo_lily - Welcome to TSG!!

    Create a folder on your hard drive for Hijackthis, like My Documents\HJT
    Click on this link http://209.133.47.200/~merijn/files/HijackThis.exe and save the file into the folder you have created.
    Unzip the file to the folder.
    Scan your machine, then click on Save Log.

    Post a copy back here and someone will be happy to review it.

    Don't make any changes until instructed to do so.
     
  4. Voodoo_lily

    Voodoo_lily Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, as I stated in my previous post, I CANNOT connect to the internet from my pc. I can from my work pc though, so can I copy these files/programs onto a floppy and then execute them from the disc onto my home pc? Also, like I said it takes at least 20-30 mins for my pc to even boot up, when clicking on any icon to begin a program it just runs for ever, never opens the program and shoots the icon down to the taskbar. I beleive my problem maybe a game I downloaded, because ever since it has given me problems. Can I start the pc in safe mode and run the programs/scans from there? I know if I just try to run the programs from a floppy it won't let me, because before it got this bad it would just stop any scan or program I was trying to use. I can't even get to the control panel.
     
  5. cybertech

    cybertech Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    72,115
    Hijackthis will fit on a floppy and you can save your scan back to the floppy.

    Start your machine in safe mode and remove all you can from startup. Look in Start, Programs, Startup folder. You can move any shortcuts to the desktop and then return them after the machine is fixed.

    Get this one too http://vil.nai.com/vil/averttools.asp#stinger it will also fit on a floppy. Not knowing what you have this is better than nothing. It will not hurt to run it and you can run it in safe mode. But the hijack log needs to be run in normal mode to be effective. If you just can not get to normal mode run the hijack log in safe mode.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/230291

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice