1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My computer is Hijacked

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by biglegs, Jul 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks again Flavallee:

    I see that the number is a USPS tracking number - (I entered the # into a search engine) and whalla that's what it is - DUH!! LMAO

    When I get in contact with my friend to find out the model number or have someone to look at the computer really good to find the model number, I will be in contact with you again.

    Once more, thanks sooooooooo much for your help.
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    When you are using this computer, if you go to this link

    Or automatically detect products

    there is an automatic HP/Compaq tool that can show you the model number info.

    Post what it says you have. The computer could have been modified.....but, you can compare what the original configuration was, to what is in Device Manager now, for the components such as sound, video, Network adapter, other hardware.
     
  3. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks Byteman for the information.

    When I click on the link, it asks me for product name, in which I type in Compaq Presario, then it says "There are over 300 products, etc.". Where do I find the link to click on "HP/Compaq tool" where it will detect what model I have?

    Please respond whenever your time permits.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,665
    Click the "Start Detection" button and see if it automatically detects your computer and provides the needed information.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks again Flavallee for responding.

    When I click on the link Byteman provided, this is what I get:

    Step 1:

    Start by selecting a task
    o Download drivers and software
    o See support and troubleshooting information

    Step 2:

    Enter a Product Name/Number
    For Product (a box appears where I type Compaq Presario) then I click on "go"

    The next page comes up with the search results.

    I don't see a button to click on Start Detection nowhere on that page.

    Possibly the link has expired or something.

    Please respond whenever your times permit.
     
  6. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    OK_ You need to put a dot mark into one of the circles on the top, either Drivers and Software, or, See Support and Troubleshooting Information. (Start by selecting a Task) Must be you are seeing, and are putting a dot in one of the circles, in order to get to do anything after that......

    So> my post did not say anything about y ou typing in any product info, model, or anything......

    You do NOT need to type in any product information. It's an either/or thing. The Product Name/ Number box is for if you know the model of item..........

    Then, you should see a page similar to my screenshot like this, and then you can post what it detects for your computer.
     

    Attached Files:

    • hp.png
      hp.png
      File size:
      177.9 KB
      Views:
      45
  7. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks again Byteman:

    I've followed your directions as you stated in Post #32 above - but nothing else happens once I either put a dot in the box for download drivers and software or see troubleshooting information. After that, Step 2 asks for Product Name/Information in which I leave blank. Nothing else shows where it starts detection or give me any information on detecting anything.

    I don't know why it's not working for me.

    When I click on your link - it takes me directly to the page of your screenshot where I put a circle in one of the boxes.

    Respond whenever your time permits.
     
  8. itsjusme

    itsjusme

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    836
    You wouldnt happen to be using Firefox or some other browser at the moment would you? This will only work with IE i believe. Works for me with IE but not Firefox. This from that same page:

     
  9. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks itsjust me for responding:

    So that is the problem - I've always used Firefox for my web-browsing.

    I'm going to use IE right now and get back to you.

    Whew - finally, thanks again

    Here's the information:

    Compaq Presario 5BWM2A Desktop PC

    Respond whenever your time permits.
     
  10. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    Yep- uses an ActiveX control to do the detecting; glad someone caught the oversight. Thanks!

    Let's see......we had to get the model information so that Flavalee could look up the amount of RAM the computer can use. So, I will
    take a seat and let Frank get on with it!
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,665
    biglegs:

    Here is the support and software site for the Compaq Presario 5BWM2A desktop. It appears to be 9 - 10 years old. The site is lacking details about the hardware in it, so I've gone elsewhere to obtain the RAM information.

    According to the CRUCIAL site and the MEMORYTEN site, that desktop supports a maximum of 768 MB of RAM. This means that you can install a maximum of 256 MB in each of its 3 slots to obtain 768 MB.

    It uses PC100 or PC133 modules. Here is an image of what they look like.

    I've personally used both of these sites for about 3 years for purchasing modules for older desktops that I resurrect and/or upgrade. The MEMORYTEN site tends to be cheaper. 256 MB modules are currently selling for $19.98 at that site and for $34.99 at the CRUCIAL site.

    It's my guess that your desktop currently has 2 - 128 MB modules or 1 - 256 MB module. Regardless of what the current setup is, you should purchase 3 matching modules so there's no risk of incompatibility between modules.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks again Flavallee for everything. I will start working on getting those slots filled ASAP with the help of my brother once he's not too busy.

    The techguy forum website is just unbelievable - you guys give/solve/help/suggest, etc. everything on computer problems for people everywhere.

    Words just cannot explain how tremendously happy I am right now with you guys for all your help. When my funds are right - I will definitely be giving a donation to you and/or web-site. :) :)
     
  13. biglegs

    biglegs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks again Byteman for your help - you are awesome too!
     
  14. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,665
    On behalf of me and Byteman, you're welcome. :D

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. Byteman

    Byteman Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,727
    :D Stop back anytime if you need help. (y)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/934616