1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My computer just isn't the same

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by MALLYCAT, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MALLYCAT

    MALLYCAT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    I've had problems with my sound, my macromedia, sometimes is very slow. Oh the pain. Here is my HIJACK log if anyone could tell me if something is not right. Thanks.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.0
    Scan saved at 10:06:13 PM, on 1/27/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\qttask.exe
    C:\Cyberpwr\PanPlus.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe
    C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SpySweeper.exe
    C:\Program Files\Sony\VAIO Action Setup\VAServ.exe
    c:\progra~1\Support.com\client\bin\tgcmd.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN\MSNCoreFiles\msn.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN\MSNIA\msniasvc.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\SHELBY~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\Temporary Directory 10 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyServer = http=127.0.0.1:9022
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ZTgServerSwitch] c:\program files\support.com\client\lserver\server.vbs
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] C:\WINDOWS\system32\qttask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Power Panel plus] C:\Cyberpwr\PanPlus.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ViewMgr] C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] %SystemRoot%\system32\mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MsnMsgr.Exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpySweeper] "C:\Program Files\Webroot\Spy Sweeper\SpySweeper.exe" /1
    O4 - Global Startup: VAIO Action Setup (Server).lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: View Original Image - C:\program files\msn\msnia\wa\getoriginal.htm
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Shdocvw.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.sony.com/vaiopeople
    O16 - DPF: {3AF4DACE-36ED-42EF-9DFC-ADC34DA30CFF} (PatchInstaller.Installer) - file://E:\content\include\XPPatchInstaller.CAB
    O16 - DPF: {4C39376E-FA9D-4349-BACC-D305C1750EF3} (EPUImageControl Class) - http://tools.ebayimg.com/eps/wl/activex/EPUWALControl_v1-0-3-12.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {7B297BFD-85E4-4092-B2AF-16A91B2EA103} (WScanCtl Class) - http://www3.ca.com/securityadvisor/virusinfo/webscan.cab
    O16 - DPF: {8B1BC605-C593-4865-8F5B-05517F0CD0BB} (MSSecurityAdvisorCD Class) - file://E:\Content\include\msSecUcd.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{EE73C32E-BBAB-4C27-888C-AD39343380DD}:
     
  2. dr20

    dr20

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,649
    Your log looks ok from here. What kind of problems are you having with sound?
     
  3. MALLYCAT

    MALLYCAT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Like if I want to listen to a ringtone on Cingular, it just will not play or anything like that. I can play CDs in my media player.
     
  4. dr20

    dr20

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,649
    Do you know what your soundcard is? Also did you install the drivers yourself or did XP do it automatically? Sometimes sound problems can be corrected by reinstalling the drivers.
     
  5. MALLYCAT

    MALLYCAT Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    I believe it is SoundMax? It was already installed. I've updated the drivers. It always says there was not one found that was better than the one I have.
     
  6. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
  7. dr20

    dr20

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,649
    Hi there's several troubleshooting steps you can take with regards to your sound. I 'm signing off for tonight but will check in again tomorrow. I'll leave you with this Soundmax link that offers some things you can try, particularly with respect to Hardware Acceleration from #39. It also has on the bottom an e-mail address to contact for technical advice:

    Soundmax
    http://forms.analog.com/Form_Pages/soundMAX/soundMAXSupportFAQ.html
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - computer isn't same
  1. 8biosdrive
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    403
  2. Tip1721
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    335
  3. osephj
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    507
  4. Harbhajan
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    253
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324190

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice