1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My computer says I don't have Anti Virus but I think I do

Discussion in 'General Security' started by VistaMachine, Dec 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. VistaMachine

VistaMachine Thread Starter

Recently my computer has been having problems and I will post those in the Virus and Malware forums but I have a question about Anti-Virus.

In a recent OIT class at my college the teacher told us about Microsoft Security Essentials being free. I am a college student and my computer had not had Anti-Virus on it(I know I am stupid, but I thought I had it) so I jumped on Microsoft Security Essentials since it was free. I downloaded it and have felt a little more secure knowing that I had it. But yesterday I got a pop up balloon on my taskbar that said "Your Computer Has some Security Concerns" or somthing like that, I click the balloon to go to Security Center and it said I had no Virus Protection and no Spyware and Malware Protection. But when I click on Security Essentials it said I was protected? I have set SE to run a virus scan everyday and check for virus definitions around noon since I know my computer will be on at noon almost everyday.

Today I got the same message from Security Center saying "You computer has some security concerns" but when I click on Security Center it shows all the lights as green and it says Security Essentials reports that it is up to date and virus scan is running. I just ran a Virus definitions update in Security Essentials and a full scan of my computer using SE and it said all virus definitions are up to date and it didn't find any infected files. That was a little less than a hour ago.