1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

my computer will not start, with 6 beeps

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by qishengguan, Oct 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I have a Dell precision workstation 360. It tells me system battery votage is low, keep forgeting date and time, so i replaced the battery on the motherboard. While i do this, i found the botton of the coin battery chamber was slightly erosed, so i used a small metal knife scraped it so try to make better connection with the battery.
    After that, my computer will not start. After i press the power button, the front power light is on, with 6 beeps. then nothing will happen. the beep pattern like this: 2 long followed by two short, then pause then two short ones.
    I wonder does this means the motherboard is dead? or some other issues? I might did stupid things, since i do not know much about the computer.
    any input is very much appreciated.
    thanks

    qishengguan
     
  2. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    other thought:
    maybe the BIO is forgoten?
     
  3. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Dave Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,674
  4. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    thanks.
    i did check the beep again. It seems like 1-3-2, indicates "
    DIMMs not being properly identified or used", but what should i do then?
    I did not do anything to the RAM, and i did try to replug it in pretty firmly.

    qishengguan
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Dave Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,674
    The lights on the back point to errors as well. Try reseating the memory again. and clean the slots (with a clean dry paintbrush??) to remove any dust.
    I've got a similar board upstairs somewhere that I'm putting Windows 7 on (it does work so far). That project is on hold for the moment. but I can try things if you need??
     
  6. semajjames

    semajjames

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    put 1 memory stick in at a time also there is some softwear http://www.memtest86.com/ this can be put onto a disc and used to check memory withouth windows starting
     
  7. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    thanks, every one
    the problem resolved following the suggestion from you and other sites.
    I reseat the RAM pieces one by one, it turn out one is bad (Making the beeps as described at the begining), and the other one started the computer. I am so happy that the computer start working again!!!
    but what caused the damage to the RAM? is there anything to do with my changing the system battery?
     
  8. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Dave Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,674
    Try it in another slot.
    As for why, Sh1t happens.
     
  9. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    i tried each one on four of the slots.
    One RAM always make beeps and stop.
    THe other RAM always worked and start to boot the computer no matter which slot it is in.
    Definitely the one always make beeps, is bad, right?
     
  10. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Dave Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,674
    How much working memory now have you got?
    256Mb is not enough. look on the bay. With 4 slots, you should be able to get 1 or 2 Gb fairly cheaply.
     
  11. qishengguan

    qishengguan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    thanks. I have 512MB at the moment and i plan to add up to 2GB. need to purchase 3 512MB DDR400. i found some on the craigslist, hopefully it will be the one i need. Otherwise i will go to ebay.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/956517