1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

my computer wont let me download

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sassfrat, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    SASS...can you click START, then select RUN on the right side of the menu, and when the box pops up, please type MSCONFIG and hit enter. On the next screen that pops up, please select DIAGNOSTIC STARTUP then click OKAY at the bottom....Now restart your computer and report back.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,467
    sassfrat: Do you see a start button in the bottom left? If so, click it. Then you should see an option called 'run'. Click that. then type in taskmgr.exe. Then hit enter. Then tell us what happens.

    If nothing, you may as well bring the computer into a local shop for service, as I doubt that we will be able to assist here.

    thanks,

    v
     
  3. sassfrat

    sassfrat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    no think thata it
     
  4. Killazys

    Killazys

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,416
    Blackmirror, you missed "cannot do anything in Safe Mode/ Safe Mode with Networking either". That's a very big "AND".
     
  5. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    The problem is, taking it to a local shop, they may just decide to reformat of which this person clearly has no software for this machine. Sounds pricey.

    Just in case you missed it...

    SASS...can you click START, then select RUN on the right side of the menu, and when the box pops up, please type MSCONFIG and hit enter. On the next screen that pops up, please select DIAGNOSTIC STARTUP then click OKAY at the bottom....Now restart your computer and report back.
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,467
    all I know is that last bit of advice I gave about task manager from start > run is about it for me. After that, you folks can attend this rodeo. :)
     
  7. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,576
    Did we ever establish that this computer has a Start button or is that missing too?
     
  8. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    um, lol. Is it a Mac?
     
  9. sassfrat

    sassfrat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    i did that but totally got confused has what to do after that i really do need step by step guide please so sorry to be a pain in the backside.
     
  10. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Did you restart the computer after following those steps? Are you on that computer right now?
     
  11. sassfrat

    sassfrat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    78

    yes but didnt know what to do next so went back to start in normal mode as we only have 1 computer.
     
  12. jwinathome

    jwinathome

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    319
    Okay...well, I suggest you wait for someone that is proficient with this kind of problem to come along and help you. I apologize that I am unable to help you...it is always much easier when seated at the PC. Anyway, good luck!
     
  13. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,576
    Let's try doing a system restore back to a date just before this happened.

    Click on Start – All Programs – Accessories – System Tools and then select System Restore.

    Now choose "restore my computer to an earlier time" and select a date from the calendar that is just before this happened (the date should be bolded to indicate there is a restore point available. Then click next and OK and allow the computer to reboot.

    Let us know how that goes.
     
  14. sassfrat

    sassfrat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    done that loads of times still same problem it has been like this for about 2 months
     
  15. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    101,576
    See if you can download the HostsXpert from the following link:

    http://www.funkytoad.com/download/HostsXpert.zip
    • Unzip HostsXpert to a convenient folder such as C:\HostsXpert
    • Click HostsXpert.exe to Run HostsXpert from its new home
    • Click "Make Hosts Writable?" in the upper right corner (If available).
    • Click Restore Microsoft's Hosts file and then click OK.
    • Click the X to exit the program.
    • Note: If you were using a custom Hosts file you will need to replace any of those entries yourself.


    Let me know if you succeed with this please.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/557722