1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My connection cuts off every 10 minutes

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SergioFX, Dec 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SergioFX

    SergioFX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Hello.

    I seem to have a problem that only started a few days ago.

    My connection seems to be turning off on it's own every ten minutes, for no reason at all. It doesn't even tell me it disconnected, it just does, and when I connect again, it turns back on as if nothing happened.

    I contacted my internet provider and the problem seem to be from me.

    Can anyone help me please?

    Thank you.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL


    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. SergioFX

    SergioFX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Broadband Modem: Intel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection
    OS: Windows XP Pro (2002) Service Pack 2
    Browser: Mozilla Firefox, IE and Chrome. (I use all three)

    I am on a laptop,so the wireless modem is built-in, but I have a wired connection.


    After my connection fails, If I press on the BroadBand connection to reconnect directly, it tells me this:

    Opening Port...
    Error 633: The modem (or other connecting device) is already in use or not configured properly.


    If I leave it long enough, it will connect on its own.


    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>ping 206.190.60.37

    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=188ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=192ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=202ms TTL=51
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=424ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 188ms, Maximum = 424ms, Average = 251ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>ping yahoo.com

    Pinging yahoo.com [68.180.206.184] with 32 bytes of data:

    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=247ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=251ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=303ms TTL=51
    Reply from 68.180.206.184: bytes=32 time=310ms TTL=51

    Ping statistics for 68.180.206.184:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 247ms, Maximum = 310ms, Average = 277ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>nbtstat -n

    Wireless Network Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.2.126] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Local Name Table

    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    TOSHIBA-USER <00> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <00> GROUP Registered
    TOSHIBA-USER <20> UNIQUE Registered
    WORKGROUP <1E> GROUP Registered

    Broadband Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [172.16.98.177] Scope Id: []

    No names in cache

    C:\Documents and Settings\user>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : toshiba-user
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Networ
    k Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-D2-1C-13-6C

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/1000 PL Network Connect
    ion
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-54-08-6D-A6
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.126
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, December 12, 2008 10:49:32 A
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 19, 2038 5:14:07 AM


    PPP adapter Broadband Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.98.177
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.98.177
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2.2.2.10
    4.5.6.7
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    Hope it's enough. thank you.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    What's the make/model of the modem and router? I see a PPP connection as well as a connection to the router with a wired interface, both of them are not active are they?
     
  5. SergioFX

    SergioFX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    ummm, where can I see what is the model of my modem? And I don't have a router, since the cable wire is connected to my laptop...

    Now within couple of days I am changing my internet provider and I will be switching to wireless connection. I need to know if my network card is the problem, and if this problem will persist if I change to wireless.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, we can't say, but if you're changing ISP's, it's probably somewhat pointless to continue to work on this one, right?
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/778582