1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My Continuing Partition Magic Troubles

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by BML, Jan 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    This is really bugging me now. I thought that there was some application that was preventing my Partition Magic (8.0) from loading. Whenever I open it, or PQ's Drive Image also, it just freezes on the splash screen.

    Well today I installed a new hard drive. I deleted my previous system partition. I installed a clean windows XP. And then Partition Magic. There is NO OTHER software currently installed on my machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and I have not used it to access the internet yet either, so it is a "virgin" system. The first time I opened PM, it worked. But then I tried to do something simple like change a drive letter on another partition and it froze.
    The other partition I was trying to change was on the other (now "old") hard drive and is NTFS. Pm is on a FAT32 part.

    I changed the drive letter using windows' disk management console. but from then on PM FREEZES on the splash screen exactly as before!!!! There has got to be something with my windows or disk partitions.

    The new hard drive was totally raw, out of the box. I used the windows XP install CD to create the system partition. Should I have booted using the PQ floppy and allowed Partition Magic to create the partition? Is there with the way it was formatted?

    I used the windows install cd to create a FAT32 partition for the C: system partition. it is into this partition that I installed Partition Magic. Should I have done NTFS instead?? (would that interfere with PM loading?)

    My "old" hard drive has partitions that are NTFS (converted from FAT32), so should all the partitions on my system be one or the other not mixed - could that cause PM to freeze?????

    Well, i have narrowed it down now. There is no anti virus or firewall or spyware or any other application installed. Brand new formatted drive. There's not much else it could be other than something with the partition formatting itself or windows - but PM says that it works with windows XP - this is the new version.

    Any clue????????
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,380
    Hiya

    Which version of Partition Magic are you using?

    Found some good videos on the subject:

    Create partition Task


    This is using version 8.0, which I assumed you're using. Many more are here:

    http://www.powerquest.com/support/primus/id3461.cfm

    The top link explains how to change the drive letter as well.

    never used the program myself, but I can give it a shot :)

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Have you ever checked your BIOS to see that the boot sector protection or virus protection was disabled?
     
  4. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Yep...I checked my BIOS and turned off the virus alert. That did not help.

    If it was BIOS related I dont think it would run at all. since it works in Safe Mode I think its a windows thing - maybe something along the lines of windows not giving access to the drive? I know if you try to run chkdsk it will say "can't lock drive - schedule check at re-boot" so somehow I think windows is having exclusive access to the drives. How do I change that? Other people have run PM with no problems so I dont know what I could be doing wrong.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I've used PM on a ton of different hardware and O/S versions, so I'd have to believe there's something specific in your hardware that is causing it problems. Have you turned off DMA on all the hard disks in the BIOS, just as a test?
     
  6. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    What is DMA? I went into BIOS and do not see a selection for it at all.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Under the Integrated I/O section of the BIOS setup, you should see entries for UDMA for each of the four possible IDE disks. That's the setting I'm talking about disabling. Note that your system will run like a slug if you turn this off for good, this is just to see if that's causing the problem. :)
     
  8. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Nope, that didn't help.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I don't have any more ideas...:rolleyes: :confused:
     
  10. JackNaylorPE

    JackNaylorPE

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Have you tried creating the PM emergency startup disks and then rebooting from the disks and running PM from there.....that's what I always do.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Continuing Partition Magic
  1. talktomaze
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    251
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114008

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice