My CPU Runs at very high % when running games

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Benglynstone97

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
4
Regardless of settings I run games on the CPU is constantly peaking at 100%. I experience random freezing of games, either all player continuously moving in a single direction or the screen freezing completely. GPU seems relatively normal most times I've checked.

I've ran task manager and nothing using anywhere near as much - next up at best is usually chrome or spotify that also frequently use strangely large proportions.

In the past week my pc has been playing up in other ways(the previously stated issues have been around for months now), Date and time overlapping, windows struggling to start up correctly/taking a much longer time to do so, sometimes the names of files do not show specific letters - seemingly at random.

I have 16GB of ram so that shouldnt be an issue.

Any suggestions or help greatly appreciated.


Edit: I have also ran Malwarebytes and my system appears clean.
 

Benglynstone97

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
4
Hi, thank you for the reply, here you go!

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4670 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 16273 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: 1862 GB (586 GB Free);
Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., Z87X-D3H-CF
Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated

I believe my power supply is XFX Pro Series 850W 80+ Bronze PSU
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,854
Clipboard.jpg

Your gaming computer appears to be using its Intel processor's integrated Intel graphic device.
What it needs is a dedicated graphic card that has sufficient "horsepower" for quality gaming.

The 2 TB(1862 GB) hard drive in your gaming computer appears to be about 69% full.
I'm guessing it's loaded with installed apps which may result in a large number of running processes.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
 

Benglynstone97

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
4
Hi,

I currently have a Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 1060 WF2 6GB GDDR5 PCI-E graphics card, just realized the system didnt pick it up when I ran it?

Would you have any ideas as to why that is?

Thanks
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,854
This is the performance score and power usage for that graphic card.
Capture.JPG

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H (support site)
I'm not familiar with that motherboard's BIOS setup screen, so I can't advise you how to make sure the graphic card is selected and enabled.

Is the graphic card listed in the Device Manager in the Display Adapters heading?
Is the monitor connected to the graphic card port and not to the integrated graphic port?

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Benglynstone97

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
4
Graphics card is under display adapters, also intel HD graphics 4600 is under that tab as well

The monitor is connected to the graphic card port - depending on which I plug it into it is either the disk usage or cpu at 100%.


Edit: I thought I should look at the performance graphs on task manager. I found the ethernet graph to appear strange but I personally do not understand exactly what the graph represents. I have attached some screenshots of the graph - the task manager crashed shortly after the second screenshot. (As you can see in both disk usage is peaking at 100%).
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
1
It seems in all the windows using any browser I have the words I type are ALL underlined with red dotted lines. Running on Windows 10 and typically use Google or internet explorer for search engines. HELP its been a week and this is driving me crazy. It's in emails, field software everything so I feel like it's a smart filter, control setting or something with languages.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,490
Kristina, please start your own thread, you will get more help if you do.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top