1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My dual motherboard :( help!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nivex2, Apr 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    My Gigbyte server board - GA-7DPXDW+ has two AMD 2600+ processors installed. Now.. when I start the pc it says 1, CPU(s)... its not reading the other one.

    I went into device manager and only saw 1 processor there as well.

    Now the motherboard came with a program that lets me view the information on the motherboard and it says I have cpu0 and cpu1 installed.. so im confused.

    and yes I installed all the drivers.


    please help!
     
  2. active95

    active95

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,276
    When u start the pc, is the board reporting that it only "sees" one cpu ? Or is the windoze the one that doesn't see it?
    Basically at the RAM check , does the board says that u have 2 cpu's?
     
  3. amphibian

    amphibian

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    333
    Check your processor speed through a utility and see if it is the combined clock speed of both processors. If so, then your mobo recognizes both processors.

    Example: CPU0= 1.6ghz CPU1=1.6ghz Total Speed=3.2ghz
     
  4. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    It says 1, CPU(s) at boot up...

    and in bios..


    can you recommend a utility?
     
  5. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Ok I used a utility.. cool info xp.. and it said 1 processors :(


    please help
     
  6. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Is there some kind of jumper on the motherboard I must change?

    the manual doesnt say anything.. :(
     
  7. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    does no one know?
     
  8. CAPSLOCK

    CAPSLOCK

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Messages:
    323
    Did it work OK in the past (recent problem)?
    It may be a physical problem.
    That motherboard's physical attachment to the processor and it's seat (socket) may have dislodged.
    You can check by removing it and re-seating it (remove and apply new thermal compound).
    Are your HS fans mounted to the motherboard or the socket itself?
    I know it sucks, but try switching the processors to see if one has died.
    We know that one processor is functioning properly and so is its socket.
    Therefore, swapping them is a finite solution to the problem.


    no one know's everything.
    we can only give advise. :(
     
  9. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Are the processors 2600 MP's, or 2600 XP's? If they're XP's, you have to do a little modification on the chips to get the board to recognize them, I think.
     
  10. StillLearnin'

    StillLearnin'

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,742
  11. nivex2

    nivex2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    they're Xps.. what do I have to change?
     
  12. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Check out this thread. You should note that doing any physical modification to the chip voids the warranty, so if you mess something up, you're screwed. Make sure you know what you're doing before you try it.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/222461

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice