1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My internet doesnt work (Moved from Windows 10)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Mynameisname, Aug 9, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    It's for some reason using ethernet instead if internet, I've tried disabling the ethernet thingy's but that doesn't work either. When I troubleshoot it asks me to connect the ethernet cable but I DONT want to connect to ethernet.
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,246
    First Name:
    Allan
    Ethernet uses a cable to connect from the Computer to the Router/Modem, have you got a cable connected like that ?

    Can you get onto the Internet and see websites like this one in the browser you're using ?

    If you can and there's no cable you must be using wireless or possibly a cell/mobile phone network and there's nothing seriously wrong.
     
  3. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I know that ethernet uses a cable, I don't have a cable but it also won't let me use wireless, it doesn't appear as an option
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,034
    First Name:
    David
    What is the make and model of this device that you are having issues with?
    Has this device ever been connected to the internet?
     
  5. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    This is a windows 10 asus laptop, yes, its been connected to internet before. It was never manually connected to ethernet, it just did that on its own
     
  6. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,246
    First Name:
    Allan
    In Device Manager what's listed under Network Adaptors ? Any Unknown Devices showing ?
     
  7. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,034
    First Name:
    David
    How did the cable get plugged in on it own?
     
  8. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    No cable was ever plugged in
     
  9. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    A bunch of stuff that say WAN Miniport and a thing that says Kasperku Security Data Escort Adapter, all of them are unfamilar, but proabaly because I dont know what any of it means
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17,692
    First Name:
    Liz
    Someone installed Kaspersky (not Kasperku) Secure Connection because then Kaspersky Secure Data Escort Adapter appears in Network devices. It would not appear on its own.
    Source: https://support.kaspersky.com/13304

    Kaspersky has a removal tool and Secure Connection (all versions) is listed as an app that can be removed with the tool
    https://support.kaspersky.com/common/uninstall/1464#block3

    I don't know if this will solve your problem.
    It seems to me that you have no wifi adapter listed so that's why wifi doesn't work.

    You'd need to find out what wifi adapter you have an install the driver.
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,246
    First Name:
    Allan
    Any with Ethernet or Wireless in the name ?

    You didn't say if there were any Unknown devices or not.
     
  12. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Okay, how would I find out what wifi adapter I need?
     
  13. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,246
    First Name:
    Allan
    Please answer the 2 questions in my previous post, could help find your wireless adapter.
     
  14. Mynameisname

    Mynameisname Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    No there arent any unknown devices and none have ethernet or wireless in the name
     
  15. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,246
    First Name:
    Allan
    When you said it went from Wireless to Ethernet did you mean the icon by the clock changed ?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1231256

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice