1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My laptop can't connect to the internet after a virus

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Merc009, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Merc009

    Merc009 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I got a rogue program called Antivirus Software Alert, It wouldn't let me open ANY application, program, etc, I couldn't even go to the options, I got rid of it using Malwarebytes while in safe mode; now my computer can't seem to connect to the internet, I check the status and it says its connected to my wireless adapter and it also has an excellent signal but I can't use the web.

    Avast just downloaded uppdates and so did Malwarebytes but my antispyware, browser, itunes, can't. My other PC and laptop can connect to the internet as well as my PS3 but this laptop is the only one that can't.

    I click on my network connections and it says
    Wireless network connection
    Connected, Firewalled
    Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    We are seeing issues with that wireless adapter, mainly on vista PCs when using WPA(2) wireless security
    remove the wireless security from the router and see if that will now connect
    we have seen on occasion and update to the driver help - make and model of your PC

    we may have to pass over to the virus forum to make sure its completely gone
    but
    try the following

    post back the status of - details below
    all the services
    do a TCP/IP reset
    Xirrus screen shot
    what firewall do you have that may be blocking access
    check internet explorer options
    start>control panel>internet options>connection tab>lan settings - whats there



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.

    Post back the results here
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. 1_rob_1

    1_rob_1

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,269
    Hi,

    Most of the current generation of Rouge Antivirus progs change your Lan settings as it seems Etaf may suspect.
    Go to start>control panel>internet options>connection tab>lan settings & untick any boxes in the proxy server section.
    Hopefully this should give you your internet connection back & make your replies to Etaf easier.

    Hope this helps

    Rob
     
  4. Merc009

    Merc009 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks! I fixed it by changing some LAN settings in the proxy server options
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976539

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice