My laptop is acting weird in Windows XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
Hello,I have a laptop for 3 years and so.Since 2 months ago,I didn't have any kind of problem.Then,my ethernet driver stopped working properly and I took my laptop to a local service.Then(i dont know what they did to resolve the ethernet problem,but it was fine after),I've requested to install for my laptop Windows XP( i was having windows vista,but my laptop didnt come installed with it).After like 1 month,while I was playing a game(which i played and before for a time),I got some weird screen and the computer froze.I restarted it,rejoined the game and I got the same screen and the computer froze again.I restarted it again but I was surprised to see that now I got some green and blue lines on screen.The desktop's colours were all messed up.I reinstalled the graphics driver and updated it.The desktop's colours are fine now,only on startup I see them but not that much,just a few lines..Now,if i scroll down in an internet browser or my computer,i see it moving in waves and I cannot start any game.I would really appreciate for any kind of help.
ah and,here are my laptop's specs,(i noticed the graphics card has 1mb only,which is a bit strange,isnt it?:S)
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60, x86 Family 15 Model 104 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 2046 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8400M G, 1 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 24999 MB, Free - 6570 MB; D: Total - 280235 MB, Free - 275687 MB;
Motherboard: FUJITSU SIEMENS, PTT50 , 8q8121127, 8D81063390.4A
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Howdy,

A liitle confused it the problem with the Desktop or the laptop?
 

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
I said Desktop to the screen that appears when you log in,you know that screen with many shortcuts:D
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
OK...so your desktop on your laptop looks strange....and where did you get the driver for the video card?
 

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
it doesnt look strange anymore,and i took it from nvidia's site.My problem is the moving in waves and the incapability of starting games.Also,the things that it says i got only 1 mb graphics card
 

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60, x86 Family 15 Model 104 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 2046 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8400M G, 1 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 24999 MB, Free - 6570 MB; D: Total - 280235 MB, Free - 275687 MB;
Motherboard: FUJITSU SIEMENS, PTT50 , 8q8121127, 8D81063390.4A
Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
Uh,Fujitsu Siemens?
 

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
I looked over there and I saw that my windows isn't a supported version.There isnt a video driver for windows xp professional,just for windows vista and premium.Shall I change my windows?For a period ,the windows worked..Is the windows the cause of my problems?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
11,761
Could be.....I know vista has some problems...but I would think reinstalling Vista would solve your problem
 

Jelmer

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
9
I will take that only in the ultimate phase.Any other suggestions(excepting installing win vista)?
Edit:I forgot to mention that it did appear the ,,blue screen of death'',that shows i got some error with nv4_disp.dll
Also,why does it write I have only 1 MB of graphics card?And if i run dxdiag if shows me that i got no video card,just some vga thing.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top