my modem is showing up as a wan miniport

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

angelmoonbunny

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
My mom got a new computer as a present (it has vista) from my brother and it worked great for a week and now we cant get on the internet, we have DSL and my moms computer is how everyone gets the internet. The computer is trying to go through a wan miniport ppoe (what the hell is that) to get to the net. If you plug into the router you can see my computer my brothers computer and my moms work laptop but not her main computer and you cant get to the internet. PLEASE HELP ME!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Look in network connections and see if there are any. Check Device Manager and see if the network card is installed properly.
 

angelmoonbunny

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
The network thing says that their are connections available but i cant connect and how do i check the other thing?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Right-click My Computer, Manage, Device Manager. See if everything looks OK there.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Have you rebooted both the computer and the modem? You could try resetting the router, too. Try each of those, one at a time and let things stabilize before doing the next. I'd go Modem, router, then PC.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Try going into services and turning off the firewall. Do you have one installed or do you use the Windows firewall? Have any services been changes or disabled?

Look in Internet Options and see what is set as the default connection.

Check all the network settings. Did you set up a workgroup? Check that the name is correct.
 

angelmoonbunny

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
we have windows firewall and it wasn't turned on when this started and we haven changed service or disabled anything
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Do you use any other firewall? If the firewall service is not running, try starting it.

Can you explain your setup a bit? You said that you all connect to the internet through that machine, so do you have connection sharing or what?
 

angelmoonbunny

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
ummm. Well moms computer is right next to the dsl line so we had (im connected to the dsl directly right now) the dsl plugged in to a wireless router then that into my moms computer now when we have the dsl plugged into the router you cant get internet and even if you plug the dsl directly from the box to my moms computer it wont detect it.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Do you see any lights on the network card that indicates that it is on and seeing a connection? Could the card have come out of its slot? Did you see the network card in the Device Manager?
 

angelmoonbunny

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
13
when i plug it in to the back of the computer a little green light comes on and the network card says its running properly
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top