1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My MPREXE.EXE problem may have something to do with a file.

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by MatthewC, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MatthewC

    MatthewC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    When i start my computer and get to my desktop
    i am presented with a message

    MPREXE caused an invalid page fault in
    module OQAC125.TMP at 017f:010c57de.
    Registers:
    EAX=8180ecc8 CS=017f EIP=010c57de EFLGS=00010282
    EBX=a00000bd SS=0187 ESP=0096f914 EBP=0096f930
    ECX=c1781e20 DS=0187 ESI=a00000b9 FS=27df
    EDX=010c5af4 ES=0187 EDI=010d417a GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    8b 1e f6 c3 02 75 0f c7 05 a8 a5 0d 01 09 00 00
    Stack dump:
    0096fb70 010c5912 0096f930 010d417a 010daef8 a00000bd 00512068 0096f948 010c90b5 00512068 010c55f8 010c5780 010c5af4 0096f954 010c8fb9 a00000bd

    What does this mean, how can i stop this problem?. It looks like its pointing toward a temporary file in the windows\temp folder which i tried to delete and hoped it would have sorted itself out the next time i logged onto my computer, but it wont delete as windows is using it, it tells me. I have come across some websites that mention the registery (regedit.exe) but when i go to the registery it comes on screen for a brief second then disappears. Im not clued up when it comes to this sort of thing.

    My computer is

    Pentium 3 700mhz
    Windows 98 SE
    192 SDRAM

    Regards,

    Matt.
     
  2. MatthewC

    MatthewC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Ok, my virus software says that i have the WIN32.Parite virus
    anyone know how to get rid of thta virus. :confused:
     
  3. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    Disable System Restore and run your virus scan again.

    When finished remember to re-enable System Restore and creat a new restore point.
     
  4. MatthewC

    MatthewC Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I just puchased and installed Norton anti virus 2004 and has got rid of the viruses, im told by microsoft though that i need to clean up my registery by following instructions on the norton website but i looked and could not find anything. :(

    Matt.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165993

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice