1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

my netbook keeps restarting

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kikilala17, May 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I have a lenovo s10-2 netbook with windows XP. When I turn it on, it goes to a screen that says an error has occurred and gives me options to load in safe mode, safe mode w/ networking, last known mode, and normal mode. I tried choosing safe mode and lines of words (i don't remember what they say) start filling the screen and then it just goes back to starting up again. It does the same thing when I choose "normal mode" and "last known mode". I never get to the desktop, it just keeps going back to starting up over and over. Also I noticed right before it goes back to starting up, I see a quick flash of a blue screen, but I never get to see what it says because it goes quickly back to loading up again. Please help!
     
  2. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    Hi and welcome.
    Try removing the battery pack and the mains lead and hold down the On button for 30 - 60 seconds.

    Do you have any data and files that you need to save from the netbook?
    If yes, you may be able to save any needed files- data etc using something similar to this.
    IDE/SATA to USB 2.0 Cable Adapter
    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?InvtId=2020

    You could try a factory restore - but this will remove all data and files etc.
    http://www.techiecorner.com/669/how-to-restore-to-factory-settings-in-lenovo-s10/
     
  3. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Hi, Thanks for your reply.

    Yes, I do need some files - mostly pictures.
    I definitely need to consider the SATA cable.

    I will give the factory restore a try.

    I did some searching on my computer problem, and found out it's called a "rebooting loop". Well, I was finally able to get to the "blue screen" and read this message .... "unmountable_boot_volume" technical information "STOP: 0x06F476A0, 0x0000006, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

    Also, I'm not able to get into safemode or any of the other modes .. if I choose any one of them, a whole bunch of lines of text starts filling the screen. something like ...windows32\partition(1)\.... i can't remember what it is

    Is there any hope for my hard drive ? or will I probably have to get a new one?
     
  4. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
  5. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    i bought my netbook about about 2.5 years ago
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    The hard drive may be Ok or not!!
    As said, try and save any data that you need - try a factory restore and let us know the result.
    Good luck ;)
     
  7. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    i believe my hard drive has a partition on it since i have both a c and d drive... most of my pictures that I want to save are on the d drive... will the files on the d drive still be okay if I do the factory restore?
     
  8. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    Unlikely to help but was Safe mode with command prompt listed as a start up option?

    Reboot - tap F8
    Choose.
    Safe mode with command prompt..
    Log on as administrator.
    Type.
    %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe

    This should launch System Restore.
    Choose a date prior to the problem.
     
  9. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    yes, safe mode w/ command prompt was listed.. however, i can't get into it... if i choose that option... it doesn't go to asking me to log in as admin. it just starts showing a whole bunch of lines of texts ... something like ... multi(0)\windows32\partition(1).. and bunch of file names... then it starts rebooting again
     
  10. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    Usually the factory restore will restore the system files on the C: drive.
    But I would not risk the restore without first connecting to another Pc, using the IDE/SATA cable - just to make sure all data can be saved.
     
  11. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    It sounds like it is unable to find the boot.ini files, that will start the boot up.

    Once you save needed files etc - a factory restore may just fix it, hopefully.
     
  12. kikilala17

    kikilala17 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    thanks, for your help. I will try to save my files and do the factory restore.
     
  13. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,083
    Good luck - keep us updated.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    you only have 1 harddrive and that drive is partitioned into two drives and you need to back up all the data - do not take a chance , you may have an option to save the user information - but depending on how the data has been saved - it may still wipe the D drive
     
  15. Airidh

    Airidh

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Unless I've missed something, you can use a linux Live CD to boot your machine and copy your data onto CD or USB flash drive.

    Magazine cover disks have Live CDs on them. The mag I'm most familiar with is Linux Format. I'm not going to give you a blow-by-blow account of how to do this, because it's a while since I did it, and I might omit something vital, so hopefully someone else wil give you instructions. If not, I'll go through the motions here and document it for you.

    Or, since you obviously have access to another machine, as you can access the forum, you can download a Live CD and burn it to a real CD. But it is less trouble just to buy a mag :).

    Hope this helps.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1052377