1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My new computer won’t boot to bios, first time booting

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kris226, Apr 13, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    are there any things that prevent booting to bios???
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    Yes, a LOT of things. In order to help you, you need to post a LOT more info. Post the following, exact motherboard, exact cpu, exact ram, exact pw supply, etc, etc. Do not post "500W pw supply" Post the exact brand and model# Do that for ALL of your parts.

    Some common errors for new builders;
    1 4/8/12pin aux pw connector not plugged into the mb
    2 Motherboard shorting to the case due to incorrect placement of standoffs
    3 Heatsink fan not installed correctly [more an intel problem than an amd problem] however we have no idea what hardware you are running
    4 Parts not compatible
     
  3. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Mobo- Msi b450- A pro
    hard drive-WD blue 1tb hard drive, 7200 rpm
    Ram-corsair vengeance lpx 16 gb 2x8
    Case- nzxt h500
    Cpu-Amd ryzen 5 2600
    cpu cooler- wraith stealth (the stock cooler that came w/cpu
    PSU- EVGA 600 BQ, 600 watts, bronze, semi modular
    GPU- Gtx 1060 asus, 3gb ddr5.
     
  4. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    1 Are you sure the aux pw connector is plugged into the motherboard ie the 8pin not the 24pin connector?
    2 Have you read the guide at the top of the forum for problem builds? If not, do so. If you follow ALL steps, you will find the cause of your no POST condition.
     
  5. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    is the aux power connector on the top left close to the cpu? if that is it it is plugged in
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    The 8pin connector is circled in yellow.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    Have you read the guide and done the out of case build?
     
  8. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    yep it’s plugged in
     
  9. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    You have not answered; have you read the guide and done the out of case build?
     
  10. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    could i get your number so we can text faster
     
  11. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,484
    No.
    1 I do not text
    2 All info is done here in the forum

    Please answer the question regarding the out of case build.
     
  12. Kris226

    Kris226 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    never mind, I got it all i had to do was switch the hard drive cable plug in lol
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1225766

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice