My New Years resolution and I still haven’t started

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Danwilliams1989

Ive always wanted to build my own PC. So my project this year was to build one. I just don’t know where to start. Anyone got any tips or recommendations of YouTube videos, websites books or any resources I can use for a complete newbie to it ??

Also what does everyone make of these Raspberry Pi and Arduino ??

crjdriver

First decide on what you want to do with the system ie gaming, video editing, what.
Next decide on a budget.
Then decide on what processor ie AMD or Intel. Once you make those decisions, we can move on to a parts selection.

FWIW the new amd processors have incredible performance however [IMO] they are NOT for the inexperienced builder. With intel, you can just purchase parts and put it together; it works. With the amd ryzen, you need to set ram timing in the bios, update the bios, etc. While I like amd, they are not for the new builder.

Danwilliams1989

Wow I didn’t understand half of that. But that’s why I’m doing it I’m doing it to learn more about the ins and outs the hardware and what really makes a pc tick.

I guess I want to start from basic. So something you would use for an all round purpose.

How much would usually set a budget to be at ?

Keep in mind there maybe a need for a few retries at some things because I’m still learning.

What is the difference between AMD and Intel.

Maybe worth going for the intel I want to start from the easiest place.

Are there any step by step guides online or YouTube you could suggest for a complete newbie please.

crjdriver

What is the difference between AMD and Intel.
There are a lot of differences however the big one is the mfg.