My Norton Won't Do Virus Scan Anymore

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

debmac

ALL OF A SUDDEN MY NORTON ANTIVIRUS IS UNABLE TO SCAN MY COMPUTER FOR VIRUSES..IT GETS TO A CERTAIN FILE (ALWAYS THE SAME ONE) AND THEN JAMS...I GET AN ERROR MESSAGE SAYING IT CANNOT SCAN MY COMPUTER AND HAS TO CLOSE..IHAVE UNISTALLED IT AND REINSTALLED THREE TIMES NOW. I WAS ABLE TO LOCATE THE FILE THAT IT KEEPS GETTING STUCK ON ( APPEARS TO BE A QUICK TIME FILE THOUGH I NEVER USE THAT PRGRAM KNOWINGLY UNLESS I HAVE RECEIVED SOMETHING THAT IS A QUICKTIME FILE...DOWNLOADED UPDATE TO MY QUICKTIME PLAYER THINKING MAYBE THAT WAS INVOLVED..NO GOOD...I NEED MY VIRUS PROTECTION..ANY SUGGESTIONS?? I AM A COMPUTER NOVICE..THANK YOU DEB

Hi debmac, please do us a favor and don't post in all caps, it makes it much more difficult to read.

Now, can you tell us the full name of the file which is causing the problem and the path to it? Have you tried deleting or moving it?

Also what Windows version do you have?

debmac

Thanks for your speedy reply! I use Windows xp home. The file that my norton always gets hung up on is C:\Documents and Settings\user\local settings\temp\movmediaData. it always starts to scan and goes through about 5.000or so files and when it gets to this one that's where it stops and then i get the message that it has encountered a problem and needs to close. it keeps telling me to uninstall and reinstall norton which I have done several times. i've tried both typical and complete installations when given the choices (have tried it both ways). thanks.

debmac

I was hoping to get some help with getting my Norton antivirus to work..it will not scan my computer...would appreciate some help if you could give it Thank you.

Hi Debmac. Let's try this. Go to Start and open a Command Prompt window.

Does it open at: