my old account back!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

number

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2003
Messages
1,061
Hi,

After some troubles I've installed windows over my old and damaged windows and everything is fine beside this: I have all my files and programs but they are not under my account, it seems my account has been deleted... is it possible to create the account with all the settings I had before?
For example in programs, now I have nothing, they are all under the folder of my old account, how can I restore them?

thanks!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
For most shortcuts, you can just copy them over to your new account. For other things, like Outlook files, etc., you'll have to copy the data files across. I recomend selective copying and getting each application running again, but it's normally not that difficult to rebuild a user account from a deleted one if you still have the files from the deleted profile.
 

number

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2003
Messages
1,061
the point is that I had plenty of utilities that now are not working.. is there any possibility to restore an account standing on those settings I have?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
10,254
Have you tried creating a new account with the same name as your first one?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
simpswr said:
Have you tried creating a new account with the same name as your first one?
That won't work, been there, done that. :D It creates a new profile with a suffix, it won't attach to the old profile. I wonder if you could move the old profile, then create the new one, finally copy the old profile back to the new one? Never tried that...

You might need to selectively copy data from the old profile's Local Settings and Application Data folders for the utilities in question. For the ones you can't get running, reinstall them.

What utilities are you unable to get to run? I've done this several times, and it was pretty painless as I recall.
 

number

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2003
Messages
1,061
I can copy files yes, but not the applications cause they were linked to the windows version which is not in use
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,554
If you've done a clean install of Windows, obviously you have to reinstall the applications too. Was this a repair installation, or a clean installation?
 

number

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2003
Messages
1,061
it was a clean installation... but I've done it other times in the past and i didnt have to install all the applications, i got back to my old account.

maybe is because i've installed xp pro over xp home this time....
what i'd like to know is this: all the utilities that I cannot use and that are organized in their folders, can I just delete the entire folder considering that I cannot use them anymore?
For example, I have the folder of reaplayer but realplayer is not installed in fact when I doubleclick in the exe file, it says that some files are missing. can I just delete them?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top