my own stupidity

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chester_desmond

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
6
sorry guys, broke the cardinal rule.

I was frustrated with how my hard drive was organized around my partition, and to make a lond story short I moved around quite a bit of my data to organize it better.

Must have moved or deleted something improtant because I cannot get my online programs to connect now. I dont think this is an actual connection problem because my LAN is working fine, and I even tried connecting with dial-up...no problems there. Howevere, when I am connected IExplorer cannot find any pages, ICQ can't connect and KAZaa same deal. Tried reupdating my files with Windows ME update. Short of reinstalling my whole operating sysatem I have tried everything I can think of. Even tried reinstalling ICQ, no luck.

Please, save me from myself, what else could I have done to it?

Thanks
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi chester_desmond,Try this.Go to Start>Shutdown>restart in ms-dos>at the c:\prompt type scanreg /restore.Note the space between the g and /.Pick a date prior to this happening.See if this works for you.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
HI,
What operating system are you running?
Windows??
If you are using Windows ME, there is a restore feature built in. If not scanreg restore.
But could be third party software or a firewall..
Del
 

chester_desmond

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
6
yes, the computer acts as if it is behind a firewall, but i don't have one. Can detect network and ISP settings but cannot access web pages. Anyhow, restore probably would have worked but my computer saves only the last 3 days settings and i didnt know that trick until a couple of days ago. It has been much longer without 'net at my place, going through gaming withdrawl, not pretty. Broke down and and took the computer to a service place after trying everything you guys suggested. Thanks for all your help, i will let you know the diagnosis so you can help the next schmuck like me who comes along!

Thanks
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Did you ever have a firewall installed?
Some third party programs like webhancer, newdotnet; if folder deleted and the software not uninstalled properly, it will stop you from surfing, you may have to reinstall it, then use the uninstall wizard to fix it.
If no to the above, could be a corrupt winsock2 key in the registry.

Winsock2 Fix;
Please note if you are going to do this you must have installation cd or cab files.
-Go to add and remove program | windows setup tab| take the check mark out of COMMUNICATION | click apply | when asked to reboot say no. -Click start | run | type regedit follow the path HKEY LOCAL MACHINES | system | current control set | services | winsock2 -Right clickl select delete. -Go to add remove programs | windows setup | put check in COMMUNICATIONS | when asked to reboot say no. -Check network verify ther is no duplicate adapters and only what is required is there. -Reboot and try to browse.

Hope some of this helps,
Del
 

chester_desmond

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
6
yes,

i deleted webhancer through add/remove...bet thats what screwed me! What is webhancer, why was it on my system and why did it do that to me?

plus, service dept got it working but didnt explain what they did
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
webhancer is spyware.You get when you download some software from the internet.I noticed you have or had Kazaa,that program is full of spyware,as is alot of file sharing programs.Heres a link you can read about what spyware is and what it does to your system once its installed.


www.cexx.org/adware.htm
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top