1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My Passport external HD showing files as shortcuts

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by embrown1221, Jul 28, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. embrown1221

    embrown1221 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I need help, I am in tears! I had to backup my computer to an external HD recently and erase the computer harddrive. Now that I've received a new computer, the files on the external are showing as shortcuts and will not open. It still says there is content, however. What do I do? I absolutely need these files.
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,758
    What backup system did you use and what did you backup
    A system image is a backup but a backup is not necessarily as system image
    If you made system image backup of the old computer it will not restore to a new computer

    You say you erased the hard drive but then you continue to say you have a new computer not merely a new hard drive
     
  3. embrown1221

    embrown1221 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    It is a new computer. I manually drug my pictures and documents folders over to the passport bars drive
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,758
    Were they OK when you dragged and dropped and where did you drag and drop from
    the actual folders or the Libraries
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017
  5. embrown1221

    embrown1221 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I believe the actual folders and I checked and double checked when I did it
     
  6. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,758
    Please appreciate before you proceed that the data is at risk
    There is no way of avoiding this without you paying for expensive recovery

    Do you wish to proceed
     
  7. embrown1221

    embrown1221 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I appreciate the help but I would rather pay for the recovery if my data is at risk. I just want to know it's recoverable
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,758
    Yes but it will cost you serious money
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,492
    First Name:
    Allan
    @Macboatmaster Would taking ownership of the folders & files work ?
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20,758
    IMHO what is needed is clear certain attributes and set others but as I said there is always a risk, as you know and in view of this in the opening post
    I thought it best to point out that there is that risk
    As you say taking ownership is also a possibility but usually data shown only as shortcuts is due to other problems I think that will not be solved by ownership
     
  11. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,492
    First Name:
    Allan
    Just wanted to make the suggestion mate. As you say if the data is vital there is always a risk.
    What about making an Image of the external drive and then working with that ?
     
  12. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,998
    First Name:
    Jim
    What are the actual file sizes? Sounds like the files weren't "copied" to the external, but whatever process was used only created shortcuts. If that's the case, then each "file" will be small (ie: all 4KB or less and they will all be the same).

    I've seen this happen before when not using backup software and by using "drag and drop" instead of copy/paste.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1193850

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice