1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My printer won't print. Please help.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by kittykatydid, Oct 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kittykatydid

kittykatydid Thread Starter

I have had my printer for about 2 1/2 years and it has been great until about 2 weeks ago. I can make copies but if I try to print from my computer it gets to 55% and then stops and it doesn't print. At the beginning of September it was printing fine, but for the past two weeks I can not get it to print anything. I have tried updating, uninstalling and reinstalling, and restarting the computer, even took it for a long truck ride home to consult with my mom and it still didn't help. Can please help me? I am a college student who has a lot of homework and papers to print and really need my printer to be working.

Thanks,
    Katie

2. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    Hi Katie, and welcome to TSG.

It might help if you told us the brand and model number of the printer and what operating system you are using.

Does the printer settings/preferences screen have an option for printing a test page? If so, does it print without problems?

Does the problem appear for all software applications that try to print or just some?

Do you get any kind of error or warning message at the 55% stop point?

3. kittykatydid

Sorry.

It is a Dell Photo All-In-One Printer 926.

Yes it does have the test page option, and yes it prints that without a problem.

The only thing I have tried to print is Microsoft Word because of essays and research papers that are due.

No error message appears, it just stops and will not go any further.

One of my professors here at school let me borrow his USB cord and it still stopped at 55%.