1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My PSU just blew

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by matmanlives, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matmanlives

    matmanlives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    someone has been messing about and switched the volt switch from 230 to 110 on the back of my PC, meaning a loud pop, some sparks and smoke, and a nice burning smell. i guess its the fuse but could be worse, everything else seems fine.
    the computer is only 3 days old and the mrs is going to go mental.
    is there a temporary fix until the new PSU unit comes or should i just suck it up and tell her?

    it is a Dell Dimension C521 by the way
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    There's no temporary fix to a blown power supply. You need a new power supply. You can't tell everything else is fine until you actually try using it, and I can almost guarantee if you saw sparks and smoke, other components are very likely damaged as well.
     
  3. matmanlives

    matmanlives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    any idea what is likely to have gone?
     
  4. jiml8

    jiml8 Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,634
    The fuse, certainly. If you are handy with a soldering iron, replacing the fuse is no big deal. Beyond that, a "nice burning smell" suggests that something OTHER than the fuse died. You'd just better hope that this something else is in the power supply too. It's entirely possible, depending on the quality of the power supply, that other components in the system are damaged as well.
     
  5. matmanlives

    matmanlives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    the smell and smoke only came from the power supply box, everywhere else looked and smelt fine.
    i have ordered a new psu unit, i just could have done with a patch fix until it came. thats all.

    thanks guys
    appreciated the help
     
  6. matmanlives

    matmanlives Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    just out of curiosity, do i need to buy the Dell PSU specifically for this machine model or are there generic PSU's that would fit and work just as well?
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Since this is a cheap, commodity Dell desktop, I wouldn't count on a quality power supply absorbing that kind of failure. Unfortunately you're not going to know until you connect a new power supply.
     
  8. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    Your Dell uses an oddball PSU, so the replacement needs to be the same model, but you can use a generic PSU to test the system; you just can't install it in the case. So, you might want to see what you can borrow, or just pay to have the system tested.

    Just as DoubleHelix says, it's entirely possible for a failed PSU to take out every component in the case. I've seen it happen several times. If the PSU isn't your only problem, the cost of fixing the computer is likely to come close to or even exceed the cost of a new computer.
     
  9. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I'd also be concerned about the "someone" messing with voltage switches on the power supply of a brand new computer. If this is a kid, you need a better place to keep the system. If it's an adult, what's to stop the same thing from happening again?
     
  10. King56

    King56

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    274
    I didn't even know there was a switch to change the power, what's even the point. Where is it so I know mine isn't set low?
     
  11. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    There is a little slider switch on the back of most PSUs that selects the votage. They are normally recessed a bit so you can't accidentally hit the thing. They are generally plainly marked. Since the choices are 110 and 220 volts, if your comupter is working, the voltage setting is correct, so no worries there. Of course, many better quality PSUs these days can autodetect the correct voltage, and don't have a selector switch.
     
  12. w_tom

    w_tom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Electronics using a universal supply would switch how capacitors connect to AC mains (in series or parallel). Any voltage from 85 to 265 is perfectly acceptable. But some appliances intended only for one region will replace the automatic switchover circuit with a typically red switch adjacent to where the AC power cord connects.


    Capacitors connected in series were switched to parallel. So that capacitors expecting 120 volts got destroyed by 230 volts. A better supply is to upgrade to a universal supply. Same is found on all laptops, electric razors, digital cameras, etc. Read the label adjacent to where its power cord connects. Don't take my word for it. Always confirm everything by learning from numbers.

    Power supplies from better manufacturers (such as Dell) have overvoltage protector devices. Too much voltage into a supply can never result in excessive voltage into the motherboard. If the failure occurred as described, then nothing else is damaged. Cheap supplies so often promoted by computer assemblers can sometimes be missing this standard protective circuit - to both increase profits while reducing its retail price.

     
  13. Snagglegaster

    Snagglegaster Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,906
    Just curious, which universal power supply do you recommend for the Dimension C521?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1028004

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice