My router IP Address

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bananaMaNiAc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
5
I have a linksys wrt54gp2 and I cannot use the default IP to port forward... is there any way I can find out the IP address?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,408
What IP address do you want? Router's WAN? Router's LAN? Your computer's?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Perhaps telling us the whole story would be a better way to go. :) What exactly are you trying to do.

Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
 

bananaMaNiAc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 9, 2004
Messages
5
JohnWill said:
Perhaps telling us the whole story would be a better way to go. :) What exactly are you trying to do.

Please supply the following info.

The name of your ISP and country of residence.
Make/model of the broadband modem.
Make/model of the router (if any).
Connection type, wired, wireless.
Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
ISP = Shaw High Speed, Canada
Broadband = don't know
router = linksys wrt54gp2
connection type = wired
network card = dont know
computer = ASUS dual core (dont know what more you want >_>)
Version and patch level = XP Professional 5.1

oh and I want to get into the router admin page because I need to port forward.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
40,050
the default gateway of your machine should be the router's IP address.

As mentioned before, go to Start > Run > type cmd and press enter. Then type ipconfig and the IP address for the router (default gateway) is there. If you have never used the admin page before, the username and password should be admin / <blank password>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top