1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My router IP Address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bananaMaNiAc, Jul 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bananaMaNiAc

    bananaMaNiAc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    I have a linksys wrt54gp2 and I cannot use the default IP to port forward... is there any way I can find out the IP address?
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,577
    First Name:
    Terry
    What IP address do you want? Router's WAN? Router's LAN? Your computer's?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Perhaps telling us the whole story would be a better way to go. :) What exactly are you trying to do.

    Please supply the following info.

    The name of your ISP and country of residence.
    Make/model of the broadband modem.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer (motherboard if home-built).
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
     
  4. HalTrout

    HalTrout

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    911
    run>cmd>ipconfig /all
     
  5. bananaMaNiAc

    bananaMaNiAc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    ISP = Shaw High Speed, Canada
    Broadband = don't know
    router = linksys wrt54gp2
    connection type = wired
    network card = dont know
    computer = ASUS dual core (dont know what more you want >_>)
    Version and patch level = XP Professional 5.1

    oh and I want to get into the router admin page because I need to port forward.
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,633
    First Name:
    James
    the default gateway of your machine should be the router's IP address.

    As mentioned before, go to Start > Run > type cmd and press enter. Then type ipconfig and the IP address for the router (default gateway) is there. If you have never used the admin page before, the username and password should be admin / <blank password>
     
  7. bananaMaNiAc

    bananaMaNiAc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you so much, that solved my problem!!
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  9. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,633
    First Name:
    James
    (y) no problem.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/591028

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice