1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My Task Manager isn't working correctly, help please

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Digiburd, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Digiburd

    Digiburd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    :confused: When i press, ctrl/alt/delete, i get the task manager box, but only part of it.

    just a gray square box with the programs running in it... no minimize/max/close buttons, no menus, or tabs... nothing!

    to close i have to right click in the tast icon tray and close.

    do I have a virus that is causing this?

    Please help
     
  2. xgerryx

    xgerryx

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,092
    Double click just inside the edge of task managers window.
     
  3. Digiburd

    Digiburd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    thanks, i guess that falls under the category of "stupid question"

    duh... :)
     
  4. xgerryx

    xgerryx

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,092
    No, not at all. I asked exactly the same question not that long ago. :)
     
  5. MontyL

    MontyL

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    Daughter had the same thing happen, I scratched myself bald before figuring it out. :)
     
  6. Supersparc

    Supersparc

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I have the same problem but double clicking does not bring it up. I get the gray box on the task bar and the cpu utilization icon in the systray but that is it. Can you help?

    Scott
     
  7. MontyL

    MontyL

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    141
    The Task Manager window is probably off-screen, either by moving it or due to a screen resolution change.

    Right click the taskbar button, select move from the menu. Using the arrow pad on the keyboard, tap up and/or left until the window appears on the screen (anywhere you can grab it by the title bar with the mouse), hit enter. Use the mouse to place it as desired before closing or minimizing the window, it will appear in that position next time you open or restore it.
     
  8. Supersparc

    Supersparc

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks that is exactly where it was.

    Supersparc
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271895

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice