1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My upload speed is unormal

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Drift-, Dec 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Hello

    My problem is that my upload speed is real slow after my pc came back from repair. They changed the CPU, motherboard (Gigabyte) and RAM
    Using Vista Home Premium.

    Ping & Download is normal...

    Someone know what it might be?


    From Speedtest.net
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/1655636813.png
    On other computers i get about 1MBps.
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure the newest hardware drivers are installed for the motherboard.
    If it is using default,generic windows drivers,it may be slowing it down.
    Check the properties of the adapter in device manager.
    Under advanced settings there should be speed/duplex settings.
    You would want that set to either auto or full duplex at the highest speed.
    Make sure the are no QOS settings on your router that are limiting the bandwidth
    to your computer.
    Also make sure there are no other computers uploading anything while you are
    doing the test.
     
  3. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    thx :)
    Changed to full duplex and it got better.

    But now it works well for some minutes then it turn off, then on after about 20 secounds, really annoying when playing online games.

    So I need some more help here, really unstable connection.
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Check the other settings in the adapter properties.
    There may be a setting that says allow windows to turn off
    this device to save power.
    You want to disable that.
    Also check the advanced power settings in control panel.
     
  5. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Could find that, because its a dektop pc?
    And the network driver is latest version-

    hmm
    Edit: wired connection
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    On the adapter properties page,there may be a button that says configure
    depending on you opertaing system.
    Click that and look for a power options tab.
     
  7. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Found it! and i took it off. will see later if it got better
    thx :)
     
  8. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Nope, didn`t get any better :(

    Maybe a network adapter will do it?
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Might go to the motherboard manufacturers website for
    the new motherboard and check the support section.
    Make sure the newest driver is installed for the LAN adapter.
    There should be driver downloads on their site.
     
  10. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Hello, speed is okay now, was the driver.
    But i got another problem now, when playing online games i get sick ping drops ( on PS3 and PC)

    Going from 4 bar connection to 1 bar, where its unplayable :S

    Anyone ?
     
  11. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Have any other wireless devices like cordless phones
    that might be interfering with the signal?
    If so,you may need to change channels on them to
    minimize the interference.
    Like put the network on channel 1 and the phones on channel 11.
     
  12. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Not using wireless, using cable on PS3 and to my PC
     
  13. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    This in your previous post indicates wireless...
    "Going from 4 bar connection to 1 bar, where its unplayable :S"
    Wired doesn't usually have bars.
     
  14. Drift-

    Drift- Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Ah sry, ment in-game, ping bars.
    And the speed is really unstable on my pc and my PS3 both using wired connection.
    Took a speedtest, and there everything was normal got about 19ms ping, 3,2MB down and 1,2 Up wich is more than i ordered :)

    But still, when i am playing.
    Good for 2min then it starts to lag alot, then it`s good for a little while, and like this all the time.

    And the provider told me the speed to my house was stable :/
    Can it be the router, (almost new) linksys E2000
     
  15. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Your router should have priority settings for gaming and media.
    Might check and see if you can set higher priority for those.
    Make sure your wireless is secured to make sure noone is
    piggybacking on your connection.
    It's not impossible that the router has problems though.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1031766

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice