1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

My wireless router is connected to the internet but

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SkewpyNewpers, Dec 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    My wireless router is connected to the internet and my laptop is connected to the router bit the laptop is saying no connection. The laptop was connected and I was responding to an email when it stopped working. The wireless router is working because my ninentdo Wii is able to access the internet. I just signed up to this website on my cell phone and hope some one will help me. Thank you
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,467
    Strange as it may seem, rebooting hardware is usually a good go-to solution from the start. I understand the router is working for the Wii, but I would still recommend rebooting it and then rebooting your laptop, logging in, and then re-checking the connection.
     
  3. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for the response. I'll give it a try.
     
  4. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Unfortunately it didn't work. The laptop is connecting to the router but it is also telling me the router is not connecting to the internet.
     
  5. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,467
    Okay, let's move on to specifics. What's the make & model of the laptop, and the make & model of the router? For further information, please download and run the System Information Utility, and the post the results back to this thread.
     
  6. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    OK, I tried restarting everything again but this time I turned off the Wii U first. Now I'm accessing this website from my laptop. What is that about? The laptop is a Toshiba Satellite and the router is a Belkin N750.
     
  7. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 6038 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000, -1984 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 700566 MB, Free - 104179 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, Satellite R945
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled
     
  8. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    So I was browsing yelp, looking for somewhere I've never been in this "city", and believe it or not my laptop decided my router isn't connected to the internet. Oh, I guess it changed its mind again. I guess it just wanted a little break or something.
     
  9. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,735
    If you can still navigate to the router web configuration web page, then your laptop is working and your connection inside the LAN is working. However, it is known that routers can die too.
     
  10. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    When the laptop says "No Internet" I am unable to go the router configuration page. Maybe the router is dying. It is a few years old.
     
  11. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,735
    Oh well, luckily routers aren't that expensive depending on the model.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    And thats still the case , other devices are working OK with the router
    If so then the router is connected to the internet and the problem is the laptop (or possibly the router if its not allowing other devices to connect)
    But lets assume its the laptop

    And is your cell also connected to the wireless router or are you using the mobile network - most people have their phones connected to their home wireless , to save data charges
    If you have it setup that way, then you have 2 devices Wii and Phone connected to the router

    How is the laptop normally connected - by wireless ?
    Is it possible to use a cable and connect the laptop to the router by cable

    lets see an ipconfig /all


    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)[/indent]

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​


    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
     
  13. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you all for Right now I'm connected to the internet with my laptop using an Ethernet cable that is connected to my wireless router.

    Also, I took my laptop to a friends house last night and it connected to her WiFi with no problems. I didn't think to get any information about the router, but I could go back tonight though, if it could help.

    The info from ipconfig/all is:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Owner-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E8-E0-B7-A8-24-60
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-4E-36-80-6A-A1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 2200
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-4E-36-80-6A-A0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d9ac:3d89:7cba:8f04%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, December 19, 2015 12:05:16 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, January 25, 2152 6:36:16 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 127684150
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1D-D9-89-C4-E8-E0-B7-A8-24-60
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,971
    First Name:
    Wayne
    there maybe a compatibility or security issue with the router

    Remove the wireless security
    log into the router and remove the wireless security - now see if it will connect.
    if it does - log back into the router and try with the wireless security enabled again

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  15. SkewpyNewpers

    SkewpyNewpers Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    I disabled the security and my laptop did connect to the internet through the wifi, but only for a moment. I did not re-enable wireless security. I did ask Windows to troubleshoot the problem and it ended up saying:

    One or more network protocols are missing on this computer
    Not fixed
    [​IMG]
    Windows Sockets registry entries required for network connectivity are missing.
    Restore network protocols to default settings
    Completed
    One or more network settings are missing on this computer.

    if that means anything to anyone. I really appreciate the amount of help I have gotten, thank you very much.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1162533

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice