My Word!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

janalynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
66
I am ashamed to admit i have done some silly thing to my Word program and cannot find the right command to fix it. Somehow I have made it so that every space between words has a dot, every line space has a paragraph symbol, et al. It is very annoying and hard to read thru. When I print out the document these place symbols are not there. They are just on the screen.

How do I get the Word program reset to the normal way of text writing??

thank you very very much

Janalynn
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
357
You will see a Paragraph icon on on the Toolbar. It looks like a mirrored capital P. Click on it to clear your text of all that stuff. Click on it again and all the stuff comes back. You get the idea?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
885
I'm sure you get the point--- that's a "feature" in WORD (and most other word-processors). I forget what M$Word calls them- but many use terms like "View- Non-printing characters". These are characters used for formatting and tell you such things as, "There is a place-holder between letters"-- or, "A tab has been used instead of several letter place-holders." (You can't always tell the difference and when formatting is critical- the Non-Printing characters let you know exactly what is there).

good luck,
letchworth
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
8,546
According to Help ("What's This?" style) it's the "Show All" button. The official name is "pilcrow" IIRC, CTRL+Shift+* is the equivalent keyboard shortcut to clicking it, and it's a toggle. I posted it cos I thought more recent versions of Office progs had a habit of hiding seldom-used stuff -- of course that could just be me talking rubbish. :D
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
9
you have the show formatting button on simply Click on the backwards p on your toolbar should solve the problem
 

janalynn

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
66
It took more than a minute, because I have a bilingual household and we run the Dutch version of Windows--and not all buttons/toggles/ dropdown menu's are as self explanatory as they are in English (at least to me.) After playing hide and seek for a bit I did find the big P and low and behold, the clutter in Word is gone!!! Thank you so very much! I knew it had to be some simple thing but sometimes running a bilingual rig is just THAT bit more complicated.

Dear Loony--I am so glad I did not have to reinstall or there would be a Looney II!:D

Thanks again all

J.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top