1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(myspace annoyance)

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by cutaia, Jan 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cutaia

    cutaia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Everytime I'm browsing a site called myspace.com, I get tons of notices that activeX is being blocked.

    I'm fine with the blocking, because it doesn't seem to affect anything...buuut...

    I'd like to avoid having to click "ok" 20 times a minute. ;)

    Anyone know how to have it still block these, but without bothering me about it? Thanks. :)
     
  2. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,925
    First Name:
    Mike
    IMO, I think it's better to click those things, because your security settings are working.
    But, you can set them to block in the security settings and avoid seeing the traffic.....
     
  3. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,925
    First Name:
    Mike
    And, by the way, I've heard that myspace is ubiquitous, that is, it wants a lot from your
    system...
     
  4. cutaia

    cutaia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    I don't mind if MySpace asks a lot from the system. It's worth it for some of the benefits. As for your first response...I'm not really sure what you were suggesting I do. :(
     
  5. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,925
    First Name:
    Mike
    I meant in the security settings of IE....You can set the levels of ActiveX controls..
    Log onto IE, and go to security in the 'tools', 'internet options', and check the security
    settings, and make sure your activex controls don't allow just everyone...
    Just the ones you want..
     
  6. ekim68

    ekim68

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    53,925
    First Name:
    Mike
    Actually, what I was suggesting was, if it works for you, okay. But, some people have
    some slow downs with this site because it's so busy...And, it makes your system busy..
     
  7. cutaia

    cutaia Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    I'm sorry...I still don't know where to go from the Security tab to tell it to allow ActiveX in certain sites.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/435069

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice