1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

NAV and AdAware scan quirk!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by bassetman, Feb 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    I apparently have one or more virui on my PC, whenever I scan with AdAware and now my new NAV 2003 whe it finds the file, my PC starts beeping like a European Police car!

    Anyone know what's up with that? :confused:

    John
     
  2. Firejay

    Firejay

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,538
    When it finds what file John?

    Also, which version of Ad-Aware are you currently running?
     
  3. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Hi

    I am running AdAware 6 and have it updated. Not sure exactly what file it is, because it doesn't make it to the part where it lists the problem file(s) ( or I give up due to annoying beeping).

    NAV 2003 is still scanning at the momment and it said 1 found, 1 fixed, but didn't identify it (at least not at this point).

    I had a clean AdAware scan a few days ago so it seems to be re-infecting me.

    John
     
  4. Firejay

    Firejay

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,538
    I was just reading the forums at Ad-Aware site, about the combination. I would suggest popping over to the site to see if you can find the answer in their tech forum. I had the same problem with earlier versions and it was a false positive from my AV software about one of the Ad-Aware files.

    FJ
     
  5. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Here is my start-up list if anyone can find anything there, I would really appreciate it!

    StartupList report, 02/11/2003, 2:41:27 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\STARTUP LIST\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.51 SP2 (5.51.4807.2300)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCEVTMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\XL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\CFGWIZ.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\CCAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVW32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\OUTLOOK EXPRESS\MSIMN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\NETSCAPE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\LAVASOFT\AD-AWARE 6\AD-AWARE.EXE
    C:\STARTUP LIST\STARTUPLIST\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    Adobe Gamma Loader.exe.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Calibration\Adobe Gamma Loader.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Tweak UI = RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
    EM_EXEC = C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
    XtreamLok License Manager = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\xl.exe start
    NAV CfgWiz = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\CFGWIZ.EXE /R
    ccApp = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    ccRegVfy = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccRegVfy.exe"

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    ccEvtMgr = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe"
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Start WingMan Profiler =

    --------------------------------------------------

    File association entry for .SCR:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\AutoCADScript\shell\open\command

    (Default) = C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE "%1"

    --------------------------------------------------

    File association entry for .HTA:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htafile\shell\open\command

    (Default) = C:\Program Files\AnalogX\Script Defender\sdefend.exe %1 %*

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 11/2/2003, 13:40:16)

    [Rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\REQUIRED.REG

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 P330 T6
    SET CTSYN=C:\WINDOWS
    C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\DOSDRV\SBEINIT.COM

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    NAV Helper - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Windows Critical Update Notification.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1024/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [HouseCall Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLO~1\XSCAN53.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2002060602/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\OUTC.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37612.4500231482

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,609 bytes
    Report generated in 0.808 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  6. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,899
    bassetman,

    I have the Plus version of AA6 with yesterday's ref file and NAV 2003 also with yesterday's definitions.

    I have run several AA scans with no problems, although I think it runs faster if I disable NAV first. I haven't run a NAV scan recently though so I'll do it soon and post back if anything unusual happens.
     
  7. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Thanks TOOG

    It starts beeping when scanning the CLSID area! :rolleyes:
     
  8. TOGG

    TOGG

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,899
    bassetman,

    Sorry for the delay, my NAV definitions got corrupted by Intelligent Updater and I've had to uninstall and reinstall.

    I've now run a full NAV scan without any reaction to AdAware or anything else.
     
  9. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    CLSID area of the registry probably wouldn't contain a virus. Its probably thinking AdAware is a virus, or doesn't like the way it accesses the registry or something like that.
    Do an online scan to make sure you aren't infected, try running Spybot to see if it finds anything, if it still beeps when using AdAware its a false positive and you can disable NAV just while using AA.
     
  10. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    So B, you think the beeping is coming from NAV?

    John
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    The beeping could be due to the BIOS/motherboard alarm going off if you are overheating. I understand some will do that also if the fan speed drops below a certain level.

    Finding some particular file may be just a coincidence.
     
  12. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Thanks Rog, but the perplexing part is it happened several times, with NAV, Spybot and AdAware and all part way through the scan.

    No other times! :confused:

    Unless they all overlaod the CPU at that point!? :eek:

    John

    Re-boot is only cure.
     
  13. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    Doesn't NAV beep when it finds a virus?
    I dont use it, so I don't know.

    If BIOS makes noise when the CPU overheats, maybe its related to the hard drive, which works very hard during any type of scan.
     
  14. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Well, as fate would have it, shortly after I posted that it only happens when I do the scan, it started beeping the same way with no scan running.

    I had a ton of windows open, so it may be related to a system overload!? :eek:

    John
     
  15. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    Sounds like it then.

    ScanDisk and Defrag, and see if you can find one of those utilities that measures your CPU temperature.
    Has your hard drive been getting loud lately, or the comp is running slower?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - AdAware scan quirk
  1. dogluver
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    2,746
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118284

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice