1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

navigation buttons Active x alert

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by Ziggy1, Oct 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    hi,

    I'm using Frontpage 2003, I added some buttons via the interactive menu to use "rollover effects.

    when I load the page into a browser (IE7) I get the Alert bar message about allowing active x controls...how do I prevent that from happening. I'm sure I have beeen to sites with buttons like that and have not had the alert?

    thanks
     
  2. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    seriously, no one knows this? Tell me how "you" add buttons if you don't know frontpage. I've heard it's done with Java to avoid my problem...please provide examples or links.

    thanks

    Ziggy
     
  3. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    Hi Ziggy
    The active x warning comes up because frontpage uses JaveScript to create the mouse-over effect. A work around is to use css and the hover element.

    CSS:
    Code:
    /* begin styles for image replacement  */
    .mp{
    	width: 45px;
    	height: 45px;
    	position: relative;
    	padding: 0;
    	margin: 0 auto 0 auto;
    	line-height: 45px;
    	vertical-align: middle;
    	text-align: center;
    }
    
    .mp a:hover{background: #ffffff;}
    
    .mp em {
    	display: block;
    	width: 45px;
    	height: 45px;
    	position: absolute;
    	top: 0;
    	left: 0;
    }
    
    .mp em {background:url('images/index/powerpoint.gif');}
    
    .mp a:hover em {background:url('images/index/powerpointem.gif');}
    
    .pl {display:none;}
    HTML:
    Code:
    <div class="mp">
         <a href="tutorials/presentations/presentations.htm">
              <em title="Multimedia Presentations">
                   <img alt="powerpoint" src="http://forums.techguy.org/images/index/powerpointem.gif" width="45" height="45" class="pl">
              </em>
         press</a>
    </div>
    The general idea comes from a demonstration on stu nichols' cssplay website.

    This page has an example showing how far things can be pushed.

    This page shows what can be done using only two pictures. Run your mouse over the "download now" button.

    Please note that both pages will still evoke the active X warning as there is a stat counter on the pages which has a JavaScript snippet.
     
  4. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,551
    thanks caraewilton, I will try it out later.

    another question...will installing frontpage server extensions stop it from happening? I was going to add a comment page, and I got a message telling me I had to do it (so I will likley do it anyways).
     
  5. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,352
    If you install front page extensions, you will still get the active X warning. This occurs because of the JavaScript.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/758890

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice