1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

NEC 3520A Burning Problem

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by Startreker, Feb 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Startreker

    Startreker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    HI

    I have a NEC3520a DVD burned and until recently it burned discs at 16x but now whenever i try and burn a disc the max speed it says is 2x. I also have a NEC 4551a which works fine and burns 16x so i know that the discs are ok to burn 16x.

    I have not flashed the drive as i am not completely sure how to do this.

    The only thing that i have done to the machine recently is to add a new sata Hard drive and it works great.

    It is not a great problem as i can burn to the 4551 but would be good to have the choice as i had before.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Startreker
     
  2. Thaddeus

    Thaddeus

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Did you check the DMA settings? (Start > right-click "My Computer" > Properties > Hardware tab > Device Manager > Click the "+" sign next to IDE ... to expand it, then right click which channel the Nec 3520 (if you don't know check both) and select properties > Advanced Settings and make sure the transfer mode is set to 'DMA...". Hope this helps
     
  3. Startreker

    Startreker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    sorry

    Yea the drive is on the same machine and works fine.
     
  4. Startreker

    Startreker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    Not sure how to get the DMA settings.

    On the device management the only IDE is in the picture attachemt. i have had a look on these and cannot see any DMA setting.

    The 2nd attachment is the only setting i could see related to DMA.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Thaddeus

    Thaddeus

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Right click the nVidia...Parallel ATA and select properties > Advanced Settings
     
  6. Startreker

    Startreker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    There is not any advanced settings on Parallel ATA as in the 2nd attachment in my previous post
     
  7. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    It's probably toast. I had one it lasted about 6 months.
     
  8. Startreker

    Startreker Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    292
    I thought it might be but was not sure. i have had it for a year and half so that is a while.

    hopefully a new one will be quite cheap now.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/540828

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice