1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need a motherboard recommendation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Zman1764, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zman1764

    Zman1764 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    I dont wanna spend more than 200 bucks on a board. All I've found was:

    Asus P5K-E for 160 bucks on newegg
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DS4
    Abit IP35 PRO



    whats the best choice people? please help me i'm ready to shoot myself over the choices.
     
  2. Zman1764

    Zman1764 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    anyone?
     
  3. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Best choice for what? What is your cpu and other components? Based on the 3 brands, I would buy Gigabyte but it would help to know what you want to put on it.
     
  4. Zman1764

    Zman1764 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    well I am thinking about buying a Pentium core duo 2 E6750 and putting 2 GB's or DDR2 800 RAM on it. Though I'm not sure of what brand for the RAM. thats why i posted another thread asking what kind.
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Ok here is how you do it. If you want to run an Intel cpu, then you need a board that will run that. Most here would suggest you start with Intel brand boards then, secondarily with a major brand board that will run Core 2 Duo cpu. Then you take the motherboard brand name and go to www.crucial, kingston or corsair.com and put that model number into their configurators and select models of ram that you know will work. That is the only way I would be sure what ram is compatible and ram issues are becoming more and more th cause of posts where a new system will not boot or will not install Windows. So let me suggest 1 such.
    This board has survived quite a few chipsets and I have used it many times:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813121048
    This ram is guaranteed to match:
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=4101A521A5CA7304
    I am sitting on this board right now and love it:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128017
    and again:
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=7F3C506FA5CA7304
    That is how I do it...While looking at Core 2 Duo processors, remember the 6600 Quad Core is only a few $ more than comparable and the second board will run it as I am on one now writing this.
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,594
    Of those three, I would pick the abit IP35pro hands down. It has ALL high quality caps and heavy duty voltage regs on the board. Add in the exterior clear cmos switch and the multitude of usb/firewire connectors and you have a quality board.

    Abit went through some hard times in the last few years with their designs. It appears that they are back with this one.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/626916

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice