1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need a pro to tell me if I'm buying the right RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rookiegeek, Jun 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rookiegeek

    rookiegeek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I'm about to buy some more RAM to max out my Dell Precision 5500. At the moment I have 48GB loaded and I'm going all the way to 72GB which is what this model tops out at. I think I've identified the right kind of RAM to seal the deal but I just need a final nod from someone who knows better.

    The RAM kit I've identified is Kingston Model# KTH-PL313K3/24G. A set of 3x8GB DDR3 Triple channel chips with ECC. My doubt arises from the fact that this RAM seems to be used mostly on servers and not workstations like mine.

    Here's a link to the system report I generated using CPU-Z

    Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,880
  3. rookiegeek

    rookiegeek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks a bunch for the quick clarification dvk01. I gather from the link you sent me that the RAM I'm looking at should be compatible with my Dell since it fits the bill of a PC3-10600 module kit with ECC. Have I got that right? My current configuration has 3 DIMM slots on the MB and the 3 slots on the Riser populated, leaving me with 3 slots free on the MB.

    EDIT: I haven't found anywhere whether the Kingston I'm looking at is Dual-Rank or Quad-Rank - I have no idea what this even means but I'm sure it affects the outcome of my setup, looking at the documentation you sent me. Could you possibly point me in some kind of direction that would clear this up for me?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Derek Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    47,880
    You will need to wait for someone more experienced than me with that sort of a set up
    I am only used to consumer systems & small business systems, a power workhorse like that one is beyond me
     
  5. rookiegeek

    rookiegeek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Will do dvk01. Thanks for taking the time out to get me going in the right general direction though. Much appreciated.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1057535