1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Need a really good Network Engineer here

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aerius, Oct 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aerius

aerius Thread Starter

I am almost done with my associates degree in Computer Networking. So I am not a total noob at this, but my friend's computer has me stumped. Here's the scenario.

They have a wireless network. The router and modem is upstairs, with a mac connected to it. Downstairs are two pcs, both wireless. Things have been working for about 7 months just fine. Then, the other day both the wireless computers couldn't get on the internet. Running an ipconfig shows both computers still on the network. Both computers were able to ping each other and the router. I released the ip addresses and renewed them, DHCP server works fine, issued them the ip address. Both were once again connected to the network, able to ping the router. Still can't get on the internet though. I checked the access lists, which I set up for them 7 months ago so just their computers can get on. Nothing has changed, their mac addresses are still the only ones that can get on.

So I got rid of the access list anyway. Same thing, computers are on the network but can't access the internet. Shut encryption off on everything, nothing changes. Reset router to factory settings. Nothing changed.

So, has anyone encountered this before. I am completely stumped. The computers are on the network, they can ping each other, ping the router, but the wireless pc's cannot access the internet, only the directly connected computer can. Signal Strength is excellent. Sharing files printers, everything is great, except the wireless getting on the internet.

2. kushal

kushal