1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

need Adapter plug from 31 to 9 or 15 pins L2320a. the box is broken

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by carlo67, Dec 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    hi
    I have a problem . I have the LG Flatron L2320a. the box is broken.
    I was using it as TV. . the cable got vga 31 pins plug i need Adapter plug from 31 to 9 or 15 pins

    what I can do now ? anyone got any suggestions
     
  2. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I am having trouble guessing what you are looking for. Is the DVI connector broken (O am guessing the one you call 31 pins), or you need a DVI to VGA (15 pin) adapter, or ?
     
  3. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    That has nothing to do with pins. It converts one type of video connection to another. What you have is a monitor. How are you using it as a TV? What is it connected to? A computer with a TV tuner?
     
  5. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    no, connect to computer.

    I was using LG Flatron L2320a as tv. it was connected to vcr player. it was working well.

    the LG Flatron L2320a got 31 pins plug. I can't get a adapter for it
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I don't get it. It's a monitor. I don't see how it can connect directly to a VCR, and I have no idea what kind of connection on a monitor has 31 pins. Can you upload a picture?
     
  7. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    anyone got any suggestions?
     
  8. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    I am talking about the "Media Station" box that comes with the monitor. the "Media Station" box is broken so I need to replace it with something else
     
  9. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    So you need another "Media Station" box. An adapter and cable aren't going to connect a monitor to a VCR.
     
  10. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    It makes sense now, the L2320A has the Media Station box with video and USB connectors and apparently a non-standard interface between them. The only information I could find is on LG's Russia site, but I can't read it so couldn't find a manual.

    Do you have a manual, or a photo of the 31 pin connector?
     
  11. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    yes I need another "Media Station" box or something else.
    I brought the XC-4873 for replace the L2320A's box. can I use the XC-4873 unit with LG Flatron L2320A screen?.
    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...3&form=KEYWORD
    my friend suggested this. But the monitor got 31 pins male plug
     
  12. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
  13. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    You paid $1500 for an LCD monitor?
     
  14. carlo67

    carlo67 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    it is about 6yrs old about $3000
     
  15. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    It looks like the L2320A has an attached cable which is called P&D (also M1-D). It is an old VESA standard that pre-dates DVI: http://web.archive.org/web/20030704041337/www.vesa.org/public/PnD/pnd.pdf.

    The connector looks like a dual link DVI-I, except it has six extra pins; amd supports USB and firewire connections.

    This won't answer your question about the XC-4873 unit you bought, but at least you know how the connector is wired if it follows the standard.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971498

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice